RSS

What Are You Reading? (57) #IMWAYR – August 25, 2013

25 Aug
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:
Flashback Friday: Have you ever felt betrayed by a book? “I guess because of the positive effects and influences it had on me outweighed the negative press is why I still haven’t dismissed it.”

Also, on Facebook, I asked, “Anyone else who doesn’t like to give up on a book even though they’re not liking it?”

We had our annual Educator Night this past Monday. I’ll write a post about it and the books we recommended soon.

-I Am Mixed by Garcelle Beauvais and Sebastian A. Jones, Illustrated by James C. Webster [**]- This was actually pretty good. I saw this on display at our store. I’m always on the look out for books that tackle topics that might relate to certain groups of people or start meaningful conversations. Told through the viewpoints of mixed twins, this book does just that.

-Elmer by David McKee [*]

-Little Ghost Party by Jacques Duquennoy [**]- This board book is cute!

-Ah Ha! by Jeff Mack [*]- Interesting concept only mildly entertaining.

-The Day My Mom Came to Kindergarten by Maureen Fergus, Illustrated by Mike Lowery [**]- I had to talk about this during Educator Night and read it the day of. I was glad I liked it. It’s great when kids can learn from a book but not realize it because the story is so cute and funny.

-My Blue Is Happy by Jessica Young, Illustrated by Catia Chien [*]- Interesting and somewhat playful approach to feelings and the colors associated with them.

-Nasreen’s Secret School by Jeanette Winter [**]- Based on a true story, this is a great picture book that highlights the importance of education. It’s always mindboggling to see how other countries seem to value education more than we do here. But it’s also been nice to see in real life and online so many dedicated teachers who give their all despite being overworked and underappreciated.

-My Blankie by Alice Beauvisage [*]- This is a cute board book.

-Warning: Do Not Open This Book! by Adam Lehrhaupt, Illustrated by Matthew Forsythe [*]- Available August 27th. Review on Tuesday?

-A Mother for Choco by Keiko Kasza [***- My Pick of the Week]- A customer recommended to me as a great book about adoption. And I’ve recommended it to others since then. But I actually read it this time and I loved it.

-The Fox in the Library by Lorenz Pauli, Illustrated by Kathrin Schaerer [*]- This was a cute book even though it seemed there were plot holes in it. And I was kind of appalled by the behavior in the library.

-My First Dictionary by Ross Horsley [**]- I wanted a quick light read. This is in no way for kids as can be deduced from the tagline: Corrupting Young Minds One Word at a Time. It is laugh out loud funny though.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m still reading Thinking in Numbers by Daniel Tammett.

Have a great reading week!

Edited to add this iPad Giveaway on Twitter from Cash4Books, where I used to work! It’s so easy and feel free to share it with others. Click on the image below for more details.

c4b

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (57) #IMWAYR – August 25, 2013

  1. Myra GB

    August 26, 2013 at 2:14 am

    Hi there Earl. I love Jeanette Winter’s picture books – always thought provoking. I read (and reviewed) her PB Librarian of Basra – have you read that one yet? Beautiful book. Thanks for sharing all your thoughts about books that you enjoyed (and didn’t). hehe. 🙂

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    August 26, 2013 at 6:11 am

    I look forward to reading A Mother for Choco, thanks! I do so love books by Jeanette Winter, she gets to the heart of the message and creates books that are powerful read alouds! 🙂

     
  3. Linda Baie

    August 26, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    I looked further into A Mother for Chaco & it does sound good, Earl. and, Nasreen’s Secret school is one I’ve put on the wish list. I also am looking forward to hearing about your educator night-what a nice thing! Thanks much for all your sharing!

     
  4. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    August 26, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    My blue is Happy sounds cute! I will have to check it out, it sounds like it might be a good fit for our library! 🙂

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 26, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    Ah! I definitely have the inability to give up a book. I tell my students to do it, so why can’t I?

    You were busy, as usual, this week!

     
  6. Bettina Grissen

    August 27, 2013 at 11:52 am

    Usually I try to give a book a good change, but if I really don’t like it, I will put it aside. My time is too valuable to waste on stupid books!
    I hope you enjoy your reading week.
    Kind regards,

     

Leave a Reply

 
