RSS

What Are You Reading? (58) #IMWAYR – September 1, 2013

01 Sep
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:
Educator Night– The books I recommended for teachers and librarians
Flashback Friday– A film review of Murder on the Orient Express based on the book by Agatha Christie

We had a couple of book signings at our store. Hunter Maats and Katie O’Brien were there to promote The Straight-A Conspiracy on Monday. Just yesterday, Lynea Gillen read from her picture book Good People Everywhere and kids made trophies for a good people in their lives. Here’s my review of her book:

“Sometimes the world is a horrible dark place and we need a book like this to remind them there are still good people everywhere doing good things in the world everyday.”

Someone called me “The Book Whisperer” at work. Best compliment ever! And I even ended up sharing my blog which made a great encounter even better! Love it when the books I recommend find their perfect readers!

I also treated myself by buying some Agatha Christie for my collection.

-My Dad Is Big And Strong, But… by Coralie Saudo, Illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo [**]- I read this a few weeks ago and for some reason, even though I keep a spreadsheet to keep track of what I’ve read, this didn’t make it. I thought this was an enjoyable read, fun role-reversal.

-Thinking in Numbers by Daniel Tammet [*]- I was so disappointed in this one. I almost forgot I read it. His memoir Born on a Blue Day is one of my favorite books but this collection of essays seemed to have an infinity number of pages!

-Mirror, Mirror by Marilyn Singer, Illustrated by Josee Masse [**]
-Follow, Follow by Marilyn Singer, Illustrated by Josee Masse [**]
I’ve seen Follow, Follow at our store from time to time. I’ve always been curious about it but wanted to read the first one, which I stumbled upon while volunteering at the library. These are “reverso” poems meaning they can be read up and down or down and up while remaining coherent. I enjoyed the differing perspectives of each one. And the split images of both sides of the story were wonderful.

-Tap the Magic Tree by Christie Matheson [*]- I’m a big fan of Press Here by Herve Tullet and this has similar elements to it.

-The Hole by Oyvind Torseter [**- My Pick of the Week]- This was an odd but delightful picture book with a hole right through the middle of it, tells the story of mysterious hole found in someone’s apartment. Very creative.

-The Alchemist (Graphic Novel) by Paulo Coelho, Illustrated by Derek Ruiz [*]- I had wanted to refresh my memory on one of my favorite books but really didn’t want to read the actual novel again. This was a great way to familiarize myself with the story. Even in a watered down version like this, I could understand why I liked it. The rating is for the graphic novel adaptation. Apparently there’s also a movie being made of it.

-The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan [**]- I wanted a quick read and this was told in verse of a girl who moves to a different city with her mom to look for her dad. The other conflicts that arise were surprising. I felt it ended too quickly. Oliver Jeffers did the cover illustration.

Rating Scale

*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

books

Got an advanced reader copy of The Real Boy. Can’t wait to read it even though I’m already reading 3 other books. The Ghost Map and Remember Me are for a couple of my Reading Challenges. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is because it has my name so it has to be good, right? And I’m a busy fella these days so I don’t know why I think I’ll be able to read all these!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (58) #IMWAYR – September 1, 2013

  1. Myra GB

    September 2, 2013 at 4:26 am

    Hi there Earl, you might want to check out Peter Newell’s classic “The Hole Book” – I found that pretty amazing. I didn’t realize that there was a graphic novel version of The Alchemist – interesting. 🙂 I would definitely check that one out. I love the reverso poetry. Have fun with your Agatha Christie novels!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 2, 2013 at 6:57 am

    Marilyn Singer’s books are terrific! Thanks for telling about The Hole and The Weight of Water-both sound good! I loved The Real Boy, but also, read Three Blind Mice-wonderful of the Christie’s if you don’t get to the others soon. So much good here, Earl!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    September 2, 2013 at 7:56 am

    I loved reading The Ghost Map years ago, enjoy!

     
  4. Belle Read

    September 2, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Ooh…Look at all of that Agatha Christie. I love mysteries. Enjoy.

     
  5. elibenoli5

    September 2, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    Always amazed by the quantity and the quality of your reading life. Looking forward to your thoughts about Me and Earl!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 2, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    The Alchemist has been on my eternal TBR list. It is sitting on my shelf of books I have to get to, and yet, I still never manage to pick it up. Hearing that it is one of your favorites made me really want to get to it, so thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
