RSS

What Are You Reading? (60) #IMWAYR – September 15, 2013

15 Sep
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Flashback Friday- The Invention of Hugo Cabret Book and Film Reviews

Meet Elroy- I introduce another character I’m writing about

One of our regular customers was having a bad day and she figured she’d come to our bookstore. We ended up talking about books, volunteering, art, writing, following and sticking to one’s dream, and croissants. And I think she left happier than when she came in. I know I was happier for having had had that moment with her.

Maggie Rudy (The House that Mouse Built) installed a diorama of our store perfect for Halloween! I’ll share that in a few weeks. It’s quite lovely!

-My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett [*]- This was recommended to me a few years ago and it is very popular at our store. I liked the premise that a child is telling about their father’s adventures. It’s a good adventure story that isn’t too scary perfect for read-alouds even to a young audience.

-I’d Know You Anywhere by Nancy Tillman [**]-Such a sweet book! I enjoyed the bit of interactivity in it pretending to be animals! Can’t wait to see her when she visits our store next month.

-Hank Finds an Egg by Rebecca Dudley [*]- A wordless picture that’s very cute.

-Carnivores by Aaron Reynolds, Illustrated by Dan Santat [*]- My boss had been raving about this and I was surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did.

-Bean Dog and Nugget 1: The Ball by Charise Mericle Harper [*]
-Bean Dog and Nugget 2: The Cookie by Charise Mericle Harper [*]
These graphic novels for kids are perfect for the Elephant and Piggie crowd!

-Miss Moore Thought Otherwise by Jan Pinborough, Illustrated by Debby Atwell [**]- How had I not heard about this book before? It tells the true story of a female librarian who dared to think outside the box and provided children a warm, safe place to read, dream and grow by advocating for children’s rooms in public libraries.

-Library Mouse: Home Sweet Home by Daniel Kirk [*]- Another good addition to the series dealing with the different kinds of habitats with a glossary at the end.

-A Little Bit of Oomph! by Barney Saltzberg [**- My Pick of the Week]- Another winner by Barney Saltzberg! Fans of Beautiful Oops! will enjoy this as well. Publication date: September 24

-Ladybug Girl and the Big Snow by Jacky Davis, Illustrated by David Soman- Publication date: September 17

-Big Appetites by Christopher Boffoli [*]- This has been getting a lot of buzz. Because it deals with miniatures, it’s the perfect fit for our store. Each picture comes with a funny caption.

-Naked Mole Rat by Mo Willems [*]- This was recommended to me by a customer. Typical Mo Willems stuff which isn’t a bad thing.

-The Bear’s Song by Benjamin Chaud- Publication date: September 17

-King Jack and the Dragon by Peter Bently, Illustrated by Helen Oxenbury [*]

-The Fort That Jack Built by Boni Ashburn, Illustrated by Brett Helquist [**]- Of the two Jack books I read this week, I liked this much better because of the nice moment at the end of the book.

-Rawr! by Todd H. Doodler [*]- Cute

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines.

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (60) #IMWAYR – September 15, 2013

  1. carriegelson

    September 16, 2013 at 5:47 am

    I had also not yet hear of Miss Moore Thought Otherwise. I love books about librarians making sure children have access to books. That Book Woman is a favourite. Thanks for mentioning this title – I’m going to look for it.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 16, 2013 at 6:50 am

    I read “Miss Moore” about a month ago-beautiful story about how one person can make a big difference! I still need to read Carnivores, keep seeing others like it, and love My Father’s Dragon, an old favorite. The diorama sounds great-can’t wait to see it!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    September 16, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Thanks, a few new titles to jump into! 🙂

     
  4. Elizabeth P. (Silver's Reviews)

    September 16, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    ENJOY your week!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 16, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    I feel like I never know any of the titles you post! It is always good to read about new books from you!

     
  6. Myra GB

    September 17, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    Hi there Earl. I’ve always felt that going to bookstores is therapeutic. There is something about being around books that gives me a sense of calm. 🙂 Glad to hear about that ‘moment.’ 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
