RSS

What Are You Reading? (61) #IMWAYR – September 22, 2013

22 Sep
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Flashback Friday: Long Live Libraries!

It was a slow reading week. I’ve been pretty busy with work and volunteering.

It was World Gratitude Day yesterday. Thanks to everyone who has supported my blog and my writing over the years. Thanks to everyone who has written books that made me love reading, and to everyone who has shared their recommendations with me. Thanks to everyone who is promoting literacy- even if it’s a simple act of picking up a book and setting an example!

-A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines [**] I was hesitant at first to read this because of the similarities with The Other Wes Moore (which I just read recently) but I was immediately hooked. Not particularly a tearjerker but moving nonetheless. I liked how it ended even though not everything was tied up nicely. There was still a sense of closure. [Everybody Reads Reading Challenge]

-In Our Mothers’ House by Patricia Polacco [**- My Pick of the Week]- A customer recommended this book and I was glad I took the time to read it. While it dealt with a controversial subject, the approach was interesting. It wasn’t preachy. It wasn’t made light of. It was just right.

-The Very Inappropriate Word by Jim Tobin, Illustrated by Dave Coverly [**]- I saw this book on someone’s IMWAYR post. This was a surprisingly enjoyable story with a good lesson.

-The Real Boy by Anne Ursu- I’ll have a review on Tuesday.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I should continue reading The Ghost Map for my Reading Challenge.

Have a great reading week!

 

3 responses to “What Are You Reading? (61) #IMWAYR – September 22, 2013

  1. Myra GB

    September 23, 2013 at 2:49 am

    Patricia Polacco is so prolific! I hope I get to read more of her books. Always very enjoyable and so authentic.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 23, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Looking forward to your review, Earl. I love Anne Ursu’s books, & this didn’t disappoint either. Love the Polacco books always. Happy you enjoyed it. Her Facebook site is terrific, check it out!

     
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    September 23, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    And we thank you for all of your support with our blogs 🙂
    Looking forward to your Real Boy review.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
