RSS

#FlashbackFriday (13)- Sherman Alexie

27 Sep
Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Sherman Alexie’s a writer who’s been recommended to me for the longest time. When I read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian a few years ago, I liked how relatable the main character was. While this followed a similar arc to many coming of age stories out there, of the protagonist persevering through whatever challenges came their way and ended up being better for them, this was somehow different and refreshing.
With its strong but honest language and a lot of the subjects covered, I can see why certain groups may be offended with the book and may want it banned. But I think that’s what a great story does. It makes us uncomfortable in its ability to mirror our lives and ourselves in its pages.

I was instantly hooked when I picked up “Ten Little Indians.” I just wanted to stay home and read through the whole thing but I also wanted to take the time to enjoy each of the stories before going on to the next one. I was impressed by how each story sounded different yet there were some things that were mentioned or touched upon repeatedly. Each one was better than the last.

I was fortunate enough to see him speak for Literary Arts’ Everybody Reads lecture. I love how in Portland writers can feel like rock stars, the way people sell out these kinds of events on a regular basis. And he didn’t disappoint.

Hearing Sherman Alexie speak was like having his books come to life. He talked exactly as he wrote. I saw the autobiographical parts in the fictional stories he shared in his books. Hearing Sherman Alexie speak was like going to a stand up performer’s show. He joked about not being the next Pope and that eventually led to him telling the teenage students in the audience to wear condoms. He called the students another word but I don’t want to write it here. And, as random as those two topics are, he somehow made them make sense.

It was a little preview of what we could expect from him. Through many tangents, he talked about his childhood of being sick, poor, invisible, and lost. He made fun of everyone in the audience- but mostly of himself. He made everyone uncomfortable with his uncensored words and improvised sign language. He made us laugh but also made us think. (Seeing him crack up at his own jokes was amusing.) I liked how he uses humor to deliver a serious message by making them stand out in contrast to one another.

Two things he said really impressed me. The first was “the quality of your life is determined by how willing you are to leave your traditions behind.” This tied in to his belief of evolution, of how progress is made by basically someone saying “Fuck this shit!” to his circumstances and moving to somewhere unknown and perhaps greater. Leaving his reservation to attend a primarily white school was an example of this which yielded to his realization that he was “indigenous to the land but an immigrant to the culture.” He has a mastery of words I can only dream to have a fraction of!

I can go on forever but I won’t. The night was incredible. I know I’ll be reading more of Sherman Alexie in the future!

-excerpt, March 15, 2013

I wanted to at least write about Banned Books Week this year, even tangentially. And, as mentioned in the flashback, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian has had the distinction of being a banned book.

And, it’s a good excuse to mention Sherman Alexie’s wonderful idea to help independent bookstores. Aptly named as Indies First he’s asking authors to become booksellers for a day at their favorite independent bookstore on Small Business Saturday, November 30. I’m excited to see how it all pans out!

 

Leave a Reply

 
