RSS

What Are You Reading? (63) #IMWAYR – October 6, 2013

06 Oct
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Flashback Friday: Wordstock Weekend

It’s been another busy week, including having to lead a volunteer session all by myself. I had to share stats and everything! It was a great crowd of young and old, newbies and regulars, and all of them with interesting stories to share about their backgrounds and talents. We also had a wonderful time talking about books and movies and volunteering while ensuring that kids from low-income families got books.

-Ann and Nan Are Anagrams by Mark Shulman, Illustrated byAdam McCauley [*]- Cute wordplay. I liked that the original title was going to be Anagram Green Gables!

-The Voyage by Veronica Salinas, Illustrated by Camilla Engman [*]- This is a cute book reminiscent of The New Arrival by Vanya Nastanlieva and A Home for Hermit Crab by Eri Carle.

-I Like It When… by Mary Murphy [*]
-How Kind! by Mary Murphy [*]
These books were recommended to me. How Kind is a cute story about acts of kindness. I Like It When is perfect for those not wanting a sex attached to the characters.

-The Snatchabook by Helen Docherty, Illustrated by Thomas Docherty [*]- This may have been a case of a book I didn’t enjoy as much because I had high expectations.

-Penguins Hate Stuff by Greg Stones [X]

-Here I Am by Patti Kim, Illustrated by Sonia Sanchez [*]-I’m always on the lookout for new wordless picture books. This was being compared as Shaun Tan’s The Arrival for a younger audience. It does have the same theme of moving to a new place and trying to fit in.

bs

-Boxers by Gene Luen Yang [****]
-Saints by Gene Luen Yang [****]
My Picks of the Week! Wow! I’m always excited when Gene Luen Yang has a new book out and I was doubly so when I learned of this two-volume set! This didn’t disappoint even though, admittedly, I was worried it was going to be heavy on the history stuff. But he still managed to incorporate his magical realism. Boxers & Saints tells the story of Little Bao and Four-Girl, two young people from opposing sides of China’s Boxer Rebellion. Each volume presents their respective perspective. Original and innovative, Yang has a gift for storytelling!

bs1

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I should read some new middle readers for work. And I still my reading challenges to go through.

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (63) #IMWAYR – October 6, 2013

  1. Myra GB

    October 7, 2013 at 2:40 am

    My daughter is such a huge fan of Gene Luen Yang – I am glad to see that he has a new set of books. And they sound so exciting! Hopefully, we get copies soon in our libraries. It’s the first I’ve heard of Patti Kim, very interesting. Will have to be on the lookout for that one. 🙂

     
  2. Tara

    October 7, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Boxers and Saints are on my Amazon wishlist now – they sound wonderful; it’s always great to come upon books set in time periods that are not often written about. Thanks, Earl!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    October 7, 2013 at 6:26 am

    I loved American Born Chinese, have read it several times with a group, Earl, so it’s exciting to hear of these new ones by Lang. They’re going on my list for sure. Thank you!

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    October 7, 2013 at 7:47 am

    Wow, ****, that’s high ranking! 🙂 Can’t wait to read Gene Luen Yang’s new books! Interesting to see the X…

     
  5. Erin @ Quixotic Magpie

    October 7, 2013 at 7:59 am

    Anagram Green Gables is adorable!!! Lol. I will have to check out Ann and Nan Are Anagrams, it sounds like it would be a fun addition to our library. 🙂

     
  6. Lorna

    October 7, 2013 at 9:42 am

    Thanks for sharing the Gene Luen Yang titles–they sound great. Wordstock and all of your special guests at the store sounds like it made for a great weekend. We are riotous fans of John Stephens at our house and cannot wait for book three of The Books of Beginning. And the same goes for Christopher Healy!

     
  7. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    October 7, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    I love American Born Chinese and will have to look for Boxers and Saints. I am super excited that Yang will be in my town in February for a book festival. Can’t wait to see him speak.

     
  8. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    October 8, 2013 at 3:28 am

    I have heard a lot about Boxers & Saints… I need to check them out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
