RSS

Celebrate This Week- October 19, 2013

19 Oct
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

When I found out about this new meme celebrating the moments of the past week, I immediately decided I wanted to be part of it! I’m all for taking time out to reflect on the good things in life.

Of course, I only found out about it at the last minute so I’m hurrying to finish this up.

Here are some things I’m celebrating:

Monday

“We love hearing stories of what roles books play in people’s lives. A grandmother came in asking for recommendations for her granddaughter from Seattle. I showed her Ivy and Bean and she told me that another one of her granddaughters living in Africa loves the series so it was perfect! She also shared that she didn’t get an education herself growing up but she’s making sure her kids and grandkids do. And a well-stocked (and well-read) library at home is a must to ensure they become great students and lifelong readers! Books connect us and they represent a better future.” (I posted this on Green Bean BooksFacebook page.)

Tuesday

maxmaq

Someone sent me a Max maquette! It truly made my day- my week, my month! I was incoherent for awhile from how happy I was! Plus, I learned a new word!

Thursday

lfl40

My obsession of visiting bookstores, libraries, and other mini-book-exchanges probably stems from the fact they all create a sense of community by sharing everything from music, movies, clothes, compost, information, and, of course, books! I visited a university library and a Little Free Library. I’ve added them to my list of libraries I’ve visited since moving to Portland.

I also ended up texting with one of my sisters and we talked about books, saving money, planning to spend time with each other soon, and making lists!

Friday

kkk

Another great moment this week was getting a note from Kristin Kittscher (The Wig in the Window) and sharing her Wordstock experience with us at Green Bean Books! As a bookseller, it’s been a thrill to hear back from readers of how much they’ve enjoyed a book I recommended. And to get a chance to be part of an author & reader moment like this was incredible!

Copy of fall8

I volunteered during the Friends of the Multnomah County Library’s Fall Book Sale Members-Only Night. It was great to be part of a team that worked hard to make this happen- board members, staff and volunteers! There was already a line three hours before the doors were set to open and it ended up snaking around the block! Lots of people signed up for or renewed their membership and many of them left with boxes full of books! Portland is truly a city where people love books and support our wonderful library!

What are you celebrating?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- October 19, 2013

  1. Carol

    October 20, 2013 at 7:01 am

    Great idea to celebrate every day! I’ve never heard the word “maquette!” Guess that means my celebration for today is learning a new word.

     
  2. Maria M

    October 20, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Brilliant post, we started a free library at work, its taking a while to kick off but it will.

     

Leave a Reply

 
