RSS

What Are You Reading? (65) #IMWAYR – October 20, 2013

20 Oct
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Flashback Friday: Friends of the Library

Celebrate This Week– I participated in the launch of this new meme. A lot of my moments were book-related so please take the time to read it. And, it’s just a positive thing to be a part of!

Nancy Tillman was at our store last Sunday to do a reading of her latest picture book I’d Know You Anywhere, My Love.

-Ivy & Bean by Annie Barrows, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall [**- My Pick of the Week]- I wanted to see what all the buzz was about and this did not disappoint. Plus, the format was something I was considering for my stories.

-Hug by Jez Alborough [*]- A cute book about a monkey that sees other animals hugging and then realizes he has no one to hug himself.

-The Boo! Book by Nathaniel Lachenmeyer, Illustrated by Nicoletta Ceccoli [*]- A picture book perfect for Halloween that “breaks down” the wall between the narrator and reader.

-I Am Not Little Red Riding Hood by Alessandro Lecis, Illustrated by Linda Wolfsgruber [*]- An imaginative story that’s not so much a retelling of a familiar fairy tale but a sort of meditation of what’s real and what’s make believe.

-Wild by Emily Hughes [*]- This picture book from Hawaiian artist reminded me of The Jungle Book, Lafcadio, and Mr. Tiger Goes Wild. It’s about a little girl raised by animals and then taken to live with humans. Wild illustrations.

-Grumbles from the Forest by Jane Yolen and Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Illustrated by Matt Mahurin [*]- Reminiscent of Marilyn Singer’s Follow, Follow and Mirror, Mirror about offering different perspectives in fairy tales.

Rating Scale

*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m actually going to finish The Ghost Map for one of my reading challenges.

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (65) #IMWAYR – October 20, 2013

  1. The Styling Librarian

    October 21, 2013 at 2:29 am

    Enjoy finishing The Ghost Map! I’m curious about Grumbles in the Forest, I really loved Mirror, Mirror, etc… Thanks for sharing…

     
  2. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    October 21, 2013 at 4:11 am

    I enjoyed Grumbles from the Forest – but it left me wanting a bit more from it. Like maybe there just wasn’t as much depth to each piece as I had been hoping for? I always have high expectations from Jane Yolen (she’s one of my all time favorite picture book authors), so maybe that level of expectation didn’t help.

     
  3. Myra GB

    October 21, 2013 at 5:24 am

    Hi there Earl, a lot of Jane Yolen reading this week! The Ghost Map sounds perfect for Halloween – and may even fit our current bimonthly theme! Enjoy your reading week, Earl.

     
  4. Tara Smith

    October 21, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Ivy and Bean – lots of great buzz about this book, and now I see that you liked it very much, too. Need to get this!

     
  5. Linda Baie

    October 21, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    Glad you discovered Ivy & Bean-they are fun books for the younger readers. I like the idea of the Boo book-will look for it, Earl. The Celebrate Meme is fun-sorry I missed seeing you! Next time!

     
  6. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    October 21, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Oh no! A week of mostly 1 stars… Here’s to finishing Ghost Map!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
