RSS

#FlashbackFriday (18)- NaNoWriMo

01 Nov
Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

November is National Novel Writing Month- or NaNoWriMo, for short. There’s a site that encourages people to meet a writing goal of 50,000 words for that period. Sometimes, that’s what it takes to get started- or to get started again. I signed up last year but after the initial first day excitement, all I accomplished was registering for an account. I figured I’d try again this year.

NaNoWriMo is a big deal for a lot of people. There are a lot of events throughout the month to get together with other participants and write. I decided to check out the Kickoff Party for the Portland region and see what exactly it was about.

The turnout was definitely larger than expected. Close to a hundred people were there. People were encouraged to bring snacks and drinks and a lot of people did. This was more of a social gathering than a write-in.

For the most part, I think people were happy to be with others crazy enough to take up the NaNoWriMo challenge. The main activity was a roundtable meet and greet. Anyone who wanted to was given the opportunity to introduce themselves and share whatever was on their minds. Usually it was about their previous NaNoWriMo experience- or lack thereof- and how many times they had “won”. A lot of people went on to share what they would be writing about, getting very detailed. It also served as a chance to meet possible write-in buddies.

As much as I didn’t feel like participating, I’m glad I went. There were a lot of great ideas being shared. It was interesting and got me looking forward to get some writing done.

-excerpt, November 2, 2010

I still haven’t decided if I’m going to try NaNoWriMo this year. Probably not.

I also know I need to make my writing more of a priority. So, I’ve decided (just this minute) to write for at least 30 minutes a day. Not journaling or blogging but working on the stories I have in my head.

Have any of you attempted NaNoWriMo before? Or what’s your writing routine?

 

Leave a Reply

 
