RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 2, 2013

02 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Tuesday!

Tuesday is my volunteering day. In the morning, I help out at my neighborhood library pulling patron requests off the shelves and checking them in. In the afternoon, I co-lead the volunteer session at the Children’s Book Bank where we clean up donated books so they can in turn go to kids of low-income families.

This past Tuesday, I attended the New Reader Training and Orientation for Start Making A Reader Today (SMART.) It’s something I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile now and I’m glad I finally acted on it. I’m looking forward to reading to kids (and be read to by them) for the rest of their school year.

Thursday!

10311

I spent Halloween giving out books to kids again. And, it was as rewarding as it was the first time around. I’m so glad I met the lady (a customer at our bookstore) who’s been doing this for over a decade now! To be part of this and to see the surprise and excitement of the kids- and parents- who trick-or-treat at this house gave me such a thrill that still hasn’t left me.

110313

There were six of us and I loved being surrounded by other booklovers! We alternated between helping kids choose what books they’ll get to take and handing them out. Some were regulars and some made it a point to stop by every Halloween. I felt this year had more people since the line down the block was pretty steady for awhile.

10312

And, if the act of giving out books wasn’t reward in of itself, “the book lady” (as a kid dubbed her) also gave us some chocolates and a booklight. (Plus there was pumpkin pie and you know how I feel about that.) I still have the deck of cards of children’s authors from last year!

110314

What a wonderful night it truly was! (I also happened along a Little Free Library on the way there.)

lfl1031
Friday!

I finished rereading a book for my Off the Shelf Reading Challenge.

Remember Me by Christopher Pike

Remember Me by Christopher Pike

I must have read this book at least a dozen times when I was younger. It’s definitely one of my favorite Christopher Pike books. I can still recite the first few lines from memory.

“Most people would probably call me a ghost. I am, after all, dead. But I don’t think of myself that way. It wasn’t so long ago that I was alive, you see. I was only eighteen. I had my whole life ahead of me.”

With a hint of sex and a peppering of spirituality here and there, Christopher Pike’s books were not like the typical YA offerings of his time, nor of this time. They felt forbidden and exciting. And, there was a sense that his stories were all somehow related, referencing one another.

I will always remember Shari Cooper.

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 2, 2013

  1. Carol

    November 2, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    I love the idea of giving out books for Halloween! Maybe I will try it next year!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 2, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I loved hearing about all your exciting times this past week, Earl, helping the woman who gives out books, at the library, doing the training so you can help more-what a special person you are to do so much for kids and reading! I love the pictures, and love you found a free library. I don’t think anyone’s done that here-maybe an idea? Have a great weekend, & with the ‘extra’ hour!

     
  3. Holly Mueller

    November 2, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Oh my gosh! Handing out books for Halloween?! Brilliant!

     

Leave a Reply

 
