RSS

What Are You Reading? (67) #IMWAYR – November 3, 2013

03 Nov
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Halloween Book Reviews

Flashback Friday: NaNoWriMo

Celebrate This Week– One of the happiest bookish experiences of my life!

We had Ian Doescher come to our store on Saturday to read from his hilarious book William Shakespeare’s Star Wars. He even brought a few characters with him!

Here I am with a Storm Trooper.

Here I am with a Storm Trooper.

-Nicholas and the Gang by René Goscinny, Illustrated by Jean-Jacques Sempé [***]- Who knew I’d be so enthralled by the adventures of Nicholas and his friends? I just breezed through the fourth collection of stories and am excited to get my hands on the next one- but am also sad that it’s the last one and there’ll be no more! Hopefully, my stories of Max will be as much fun as Nicholas’s!

-The Spooky Box by Mark Gonyea [*]
-Guess Who? by Jannie Ho [*]
Read my reviews of these books here.

-Snowflakes by Patricia Maclachlan, Illustrated by Steven Kellogg [*]- I admit I got a little emotional when I realized this was a book written in response of what happened in Sandy Hook Elementary last year. But it’s wonderful that there are books that can perhaps create dialogue and serve as ways to remember those who have gone too soon.

-Goodnight Goon by Michael Rex [*]
-The Runaway Mummy by Michael Rex [*]
In these “petrifying parodies,” Michael Rex gives a couple beloved children’s stories by Margaret Wise Brown laugh-out-loud Halloween makeovers.

-How to Draw a Chicken by Jean-Vincent Senac [**]- A quirky but funny book that just needs to be read to be appreciated!

-Almost an Animal Alphabet by Katie Viggers [**]- This is another standout alphabet book. Who knew they can be so enjoyable. The illustrations really make this book.

-Remember Me by Christopher Pike [*****- My Pick of the Week]
Read my review of this book here. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

-Dream Animals by Emily Winfield Martin [*]- A sweet bedtime story with beautiful illustrations! She’s coming to our store later this month!

-Big Little Mother by Kevin Kling, Illustrated by Chris Monroe [*]

-The Mystery of Meerkat Hill by Alexander McCall Smith [**]- I’ll definitely be recommending this book. Check the Facebook page later this week for my review since I’ll be making a shelftalker for this.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanagarne. I’ll most likely read the final Nicholas book.

Have a great reading week!

 

3 responses to “What Are You Reading? (67) #IMWAYR – November 3, 2013

  1. Tara Smith

    November 4, 2013 at 8:32 am

    Another week of great reading! I’ll need to check Remember Me by Christopher Pike out – it sounds interesting.

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    November 4, 2013 at 9:00 am

    I remember when I read every Christopher Pike book I could get my hands on… been a long while since I read one. Happy reading week!

     
  3. Myra GB

    November 4, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    I have a few Alexander McCall Smith novels – the detective agency, I think, but haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. Haven’t read anything by Christopher Pike either – and to think that I am a huge horror fan. Good to hear about your bookish adventure, nice picture! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
