RSS

#FlashbackFriday (20)- Philippines

15 Nov
Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

One of my goals for the longest time had been to learn how to cook a meal. And I finally went through with it!

I always thought I would make some sort of Italian dish- fettucine alfredo with chicken and vegetables- since that’s my favorite. But I think it’s because I’ve also been trying to reconnect with my Filipino culture that I decided on pancit and lumpia. Those were definitely food I remember growing up and which I enjoyed eating.

I also decided to invite a few people since I didn’t want to go through all the trouble to cook for myself. Where’s the fun in that? In the end, there would be 16 people (including myself) and I’ve got to say I was overwhelmed. But I’m so appreciative to everyone who came to the dinner, brought a meal or drinks, helped out, actually ate the food, and didn’t get sick. (And, thanks to my Mom for giving me the recipe and instructions!)

The best part for me wasn’t being able to finally cross this item off my list but seeing people come together.

-excerpt, January 15, 2013

I’m cooking Filipino food again for some people tonight so I thought this flashback was timely.

And, lots of people have been asking me if I had family in the Philippines directly affected by Typhoon Haiyan. While I haven’t heard or know of any off the top of my head, it’s impossible to not be concerned for the thousands of people who now have to deal with the aftermath of the deadly natural disaster. I can’t even really comprehend the scale of devastation there. Sending prayers that way; and, I hope they can get the help they need because as bad as the storm was, the aftermath is even worse.

I just made a donation to Mercy Corps to immediately help those in need.

This New York Times article is a good resource on how to help if you’re so inclined.

Also, of interest, is Authors for the Philippines. It’s an online auction to help those affected and will go through the Red Cross.

In times of tragedy, we “look for the helpers” and I see a lot of them around me.

 

Leave a Reply

 
