RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 16, 2013

16 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Start Making A Reader Today (SMART)

This was my second week reading to kids and it was so much more fun than last time since we more comfortable with one another. With the boy, we read a couple of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie books, each of us taking a character. With the girl, we read through a lot of Mike Thaler’s Black Lagoon series.

My other volunteer sessions went well too. There’s nothing like feeling appreciated where you decide to spend your time on.

Friends of the Library

We had our annual board retreat and it was nice to be excited about what we do again. These are passionate and dedicated people who love the libraries and books. We ended up going to someone’s house afterward and I got to visit another Little Free Library, the first one I visited at night and that I didn’t get to take a picture of at all since my battery died! I also saw another Poetry Post earlier that day.

poetrypost

(I live near Tin House publishing and outside their offices they have a chalkboard where they write literary quotes. I didn’t notice it until recently but they have a shelf below the chalkboard for their very own lending library!)

tinhouse

Commitment to Literacy

With the year nearly coming to an end, I ordered the books I was going to donate as part of my commitment to literacy. I picked Brand New Readers because parents have recommended them to me for when they’re trying to get their kids to read. I like them because they’re colorful and fun. Each set comes with 4 books and they’re well priced. I got 58 sets to reach my goal of 232 books to donate to The Children’s Book Bank.

bnr1

bnr2

Come for Comfort Food

I decided to cook Filipino food for my friends again. I cooked two kinds of lumpia (egg rolls or spring rolls)- veggie and pork- and sopas (creamy chicken noodle soup.) I don’t cook but I like setting challenges for myself so that’s why I decided to hold a party. I knew better this time to prepare some of the food beforehand so I wouldn’t be too overwhelmed.

lumpiaprep1

lumpiaprep2

The food turned out fine although the soup became more of a macaroni dish than a soup.

Sopas

Sopas

Pork lumpia

Pork lumpia

Veggie lumpia

Veggie lumpia

I was impressed by the food other people brought. (The theme was comfort food.) I always like it when people come together. Overall, it was a fun night- lots of delicious dishes and fun conversations with nice folks!

Philippines

To repeat what I wrote on yesterday’s post, “In times of tragedy, we “look for the helpers” and I see a lot of them around me.” Just wanted to celebrate the capacity of the human spirit to shine and survive during difficult times and to celebrate people who provide the light and strength to others during those times.

This New York Times article is a good resource on how to help.

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 16, 2013

  1. Leigh Anne

    November 16, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I am so impressed with your commitment to children’s literacy. I love the idea behind the Children’s Book Bank and SMART. You are an inspiration.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 17, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Like Leigh Anne I am impressed with all you’re doing for children and reading, Earl. What a gift you are giving. Those books look really fun! Thanks for sharing all with me. The food looked yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
