RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 23, 2013

23 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week was a good week. While nothing particularly major happened, I still felt like I was doing what I wanted to- and should- be doing in life. There was a sense of accomplishment and contentment. It’s nice to feel appreciated and needed.

I got this feedback from a volunteer during one of The Children’s Book Bank I lead. “Great time! The volunteer leader was so awesome. He told us what and how the book drive worked. I felt very good knowing the impact I was making in children’s education.” Hearing comments like these make it all worthwhile!

Start Making A Reader Today (SMART) continues to be rewarding. This week, the kids got to choose books which they could take home and keep. I loved seeing their surprise and their excitement.

If this noseless bear is out on the table, it means it's book giveaway day!

If this noseless bear is out on the table, it means it’s book giveaway day!

I’ve been loving coming home recently. My roommates have been rocking it recently. Someone’s either washing the dishes, bringing home forks, or making me dinner. Thanks to everyone who’s done something nice that has benefited me recently! I’m a lucky guy.

I finished reading The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanagarne as part of my Off the Shelf Reading Challenge. It’s about a weightlifting Mormon-raised librarian with Tourette’s. I love reading about what roles books play in shaping people’s lives and his literary recollections from childhood were fun to read. It was interesting and affecting to read his struggles not only with Tourette’s but also with trying to start a family.

worlds

 

Leave a Reply

 
