RSS

Celebrate This Week- November 30, 2013

30 Nov
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week’s celebration post is a continuation of my Thanks and Giving post.

I celebrate being a bookseller and working at a wonderful children’s bookstore in Portland- Green Bean Books. It’s been incredibly busy lately and I love it. I thrive on moments like these where I can connect the books with their readers.

Our customers are awesome. They let us know that they enjoy our recommendations and they bring their whole family and friends at our store. They share other great books they’ve read recently. Then there are those I feel are kindred spirits.

My boss is awesome, too, not just because she brought pumpkin pie, but because without her vision, there wouldn’t be this wonderland of a bookstore. Plus, she’s so creative and I think I’ve become more creative just by being around her. She’s also awfully nice. She approached me recently and asked if we can donate our upcoming gift-wrapping donation drive to Mercy Corps to help those affected by the typhoon in the Philippines.

It seems appropriate that this meme falls on Small Business Saturday and Indies First because we need local independent bookstores so our love of reading can be nourished and enriched!

What’s your favorite local indie bookstore?

UPDATED 11/30: It was another incredible day at Green Bean Books, made even more spectacular by the fact it was Indies First. We had YA author Kari Luna at our store in the afternoon recommending books. She did a great job. And customers were pleasantly surprised to have an author handsell them titles!

A massive thanks goes to Sherman Alexie for initiating this whole thing! He’s my new literary hero!

Bookshelfie with Kari Luna and a co-worker during Indies First. So much fun!

Bookshelfie with Kari Luna and a co-worker during Indies First. So much fun!

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- November 30, 2013

  1. Leigh Anne

    November 30, 2013 at 5:55 am

    Oh how I wish we had an independent bookstore! I live in a small town and several have tried to thrive here, but no such luck! A bookstore is definitely a wonderland! I would love your job!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    November 30, 2013 at 7:28 am

    It’s hard to choose a favorite because I have two, Earl: one called The Bookies which has some adult books but focuses on children, has loads of books and some toys too. The other is the fabulous Tattered Cover, where I’m headed today for Indie day. Authors will be there-time for some gift buying!

     
  3. Carol

    November 30, 2013 at 7:40 am

    You have my dream job– in another life I am definitely going to work at a book store! Like Linda, I shop at Tattered Cover! Love hanging out there on a chilly Sunday afternoon and am so thankful for the owner’s commitment to keeping a bookstore in town. Hoping lots of Denverites support her today!

     
  4. Holly Mueller

    November 30, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    I’m so glad your bookstore is doing well! It’s my other dream job to own one! 😉 My favorite indie bookstore is The Blue Manatee in Cincinnati. 🙂

     
  5. Amy Rudd

    November 30, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Your post inspired me to look up the nearest indie…http://www.thebooksellerinc.com/ going to check it soon…
    thanks!

     
  6. Colby Sharp

    November 30, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    My favorite indie is The Book Bug in Kalamazoo, Michigan:)

     
  7. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    December 1, 2013 at 11:33 am

    It sounds like it was a lot of fun for you! My favorite Indie closed a few years ago and it still makes me so sad. We had two great children’s Indies pretty close to me and they are both closed. I loved Anderson’s but I went to Unabridged Books in Chicago over the weekend and they were super fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
