RSS

#FlashbackFriday (23)- My Reading Life 2009

06 Dec
Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

I read 44 books in 2009, a good amount considering my goal was at least only 24. Based on my analysis of my books read this year- because it’s what I do- I read 3 times as many novels than I did non-fiction books. Of the novels I read, the genre was overwhelmingly mystery and thriller. And I read almost as many books aimed for middle and teen readers than I did adult books. I read only 12 titles in my ever growing reading list. I picked up books by 23 authors I’ve never read before and read 7 additional titles by them.

After a cursory glance at my list of books read in 2008, I’ve come to the conclusion my reading habits have been consistent. I was only surprised I read so many memoirs this year. And it’s odd my non-fiction reading tend to happen in the first half of the year.

Below are some fun lists and numbers.

Breakdown of Books Read in 2009
Memoirs- 4
Non-Fiction- 7
Mystery/Thrillers- 13
Kids/YA- 14
Fiction- 6

The Best Books I Read in 2009

Three Cups of Tea- Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin*
Letters to a Young Poet- Rainer Maria Rilke*
The Last Lecture- Randy Pausch w/ Jeffrey Zaslow
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly- Jean-Dominique Bauby
Mindless Eating- Brian Wansink
Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen*
The Book Thief- Markus Zusak*
The Talented Mr. Ripley- Patricia Highsmith
Q&A- Vikas Swarup
The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins
The Mysterious Benedict Society- Trenton Lee Stewart
The Looking Glass Wars- Frank Beddor
Catching Fire- Suzanne Collins

-excerpt, December 31, 2009

Sometimes, I worry that I’m not reading widely enough, that I don’t venture out of my regular genres. But I do. And I can’t even imagine why I should consider that a problem. Reading should be fun. Some books can be mined for deeper meaning but some are just for enjoyment. And they can still have an impact.

It’s funny that I tell customers that I lament the fact that lot of grown-ups dismiss children’s literature as beyond them but the good ones are timeless and speak truths that anyone regardless of age can relate with. But in a way that’s what I was sort of what I was doing.

Another great year of books with four titles being added to my most favorite favorites. The worst book I read that year was The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sanson.

 

Leave a Reply

 
