RSS

What Are You Reading? (73) #IMWAYR – December 15, 2013

15 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Flashback Friday: My Reading Life 2010

Celebrate This Week– Getting into the festive spirit!

It’s been wonderfully busy at work which leaves me exhausted but excited that lots of kids will be getting great books for Christmas!

Merry Christmas, Ollie! by Olivier Dunrea  [*]- This was cute holiday addition to the series featuring Dunrea's goslings.

Merry Christmas, Ollie! by Olivier Dunrea [*]- This was cute holiday addition to the series featuring Dunrea’s goslings.


Snow by Uri Shulevitz[**]
Dusk by Uri Shulevitz[X]
Snow was a nice read about the first snowfall and how it changes everything. Then I read Dusk, its companion, and it was OK except there was an alien. That seemed to have thrown a lot of readers off guard. In fact, I won’t even recommend it at all.

When It Snows by Richard Collingridge [**]- This is a beautifully illustrated magical picture book that follows the adventures of a boy and his bear to unexpected places. If you're giving books this holiday season, make sure to include this one!

When It Snows by Richard Collingridge [**]- This is a beautifully illustrated magical picture book that follows the adventures of a boy and his bear to unexpected places. If you’re giving books this holiday season, make sure to include this one!

Time to Sleep, Sheep the Sheep! by Mo Willems [**]- Like with the other books in this series, the surprise at the end was funny. I think this series is aimed for even younger readers than Elephant and Piggie.

Time to Sleep, Sheep the Sheep! by Mo Willems [**]- Like with the other books in this series, the surprise at the end was funny. I think this series is aimed for even younger readers than Elephant and Piggie.

Stubborn Twig by Lauren Kessler [****- My Pick of the Week]- Expect a review later this week. [Everybody Reads Reading Challenge]

Stubborn Twig by Lauren Kessler [****- My Pick of the Week]- Expect a review later this week.

Instant Happy by Karen Salmansohn [*] This was given to me as a gift last Christmas. I like to think of myself as the kind of guy who likes to be positive. This is a collection of quotes to help you shift gears if you're feeling down or in a negative space of mind. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

Instant Happy by Karen Salmansohn [*] This was given to me as a gift last Christmas. I like to think of myself as the kind of guy who likes to be positive. This is a collection of quotes to help you shift gears if you’re feeling down or in a negative space of mind. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

What Do Authors and Illustrators Do? by Eileen Christelow [**]- This two-books-in-one collection showcased what these two types of people do. Very informative and each offering a couple of differing approaches. Includes an update for using digital media for illustrations. Also includes some activities for kids.

What Do Authors and Illustrators Do? by Eileen Christelow [**]- This two-books-in-one collection showcased what these two types of people do. Very informative and each offering a couple of differing approaches. Includes an update for using digital media for illustrations. Also includes some activities for kids.

pigeon1

pigeon2
The Pigeon Has Feelings, Too! by Mo Willems [*]
The Pigeon Loves Things That Go! by Mo Willems [**]
These board books are fun introductions to the world of Mo Willems’ Pigeon books.

How to Paint the Portrait of a Bird by Jacques Prévert, Illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein [**]- This was a wonderful find just straightening the shelves at work. A fun and playful guide on how to draw. So creative! And the illustrations are great!

How to Paint the Portrait of a Bird by Jacques Prévert, Illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein [**]- This was a wonderful find just straightening the shelves at work. A fun and playful guide on how to draw. So creative! And the illustrations are great!

Half Magic by Edward Eager, Illustrated by N.M. Bodecker [***]- This was one of those books were customers kept recommending it to me. And I instantly fell in love with the story and the characters. This is about book-loving children who want something exciting to happen in their lives. And they get exactly that when they find a coin that grants them their wishes but only by half. Silliness ensues as they try and figure out what exactly they’ve gotten themselves into. Lots of adventures, lots of humor, lots of references to children’s literature, and lots to enjoy! There’s a certain charm to it and I want to check out the books referenced in it. I like how it just is the way it is without trying to be edgy or quirky or too polite or too sweet.

Half Magic by Edward Eager, Illustrated by N.M. Bodecker [***]- This was one of those books were customers kept recommending it to me. And I instantly fell in love with the story and the characters. This is about book-loving children who want something exciting to happen in their lives. And they get exactly that when they find a coin that grants them their wishes but only by half. Silliness ensues as they try and figure out what exactly they’ve gotten themselves into. Lots of adventures, lots of humor, lots of references to children’s literature, and lots to enjoy! There’s a certain charm to it and I want to check out the books referenced in it. I like how it just is the way it is without trying to be edgy or quirky or too polite or too sweet.


Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer by Robert Lewis May, Illustrated by Denver Gillen [**]- I ended up reading this book because someone constructed a Rudolph structure by where I live so people can donate blankets for the homeless. Portland is so creative and generous. Anyway, I wasn’t even aware this was a book first. But I enjoyed it even though I was surprised by some of the word choice considering it was written over 70 years ago!

The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore, Illustrated by Robert Ingpen [***]- Everyone's familiar with the story. I think everyone should read it and make it a tradition, especially if they have kids. I particularly enjoy the illustrations in this edition!

The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore, Illustrated by Robert Ingpen [***]- Everyone’s familiar with the story. I think everyone should read it and make it a tradition, especially if they have kids. I particularly enjoy the illustrations in this edition!



Rating Scale

*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m in various stages of reading the following:

Have a great reading week!

Edited 12/15: I don’t know why the formatting is the way it is. My apologies!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (73) #IMWAYR – December 15, 2013

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)

    December 16, 2013 at 4:54 am

    Stubborn Twig? I want to see your review on that – fun cover!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    December 16, 2013 at 6:32 am

    So many books, Earl, and I put most on my TBR list. Thanks for finding that bird drawing book-looks like one my school would love-kids do lots of journaling! And I have Half Magic, time to read! Happy Holidays-thanks for all the titles!

     
  3. Megan

    December 16, 2013 at 9:04 am

    I am not a huge fan of Christmas books, but I like the look of The Night Before Christmas. I recently enjoyed L. Frank Baum’s The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus. It was a new discovery for me and a total treat! Have a great reading week! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/zUn5

     
  4. ejmam

    December 16, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    I enjoy most of the Eager’s I’ve read, and they are good read-alouds as well. Lots of fun books here.

     
  5. Myra GB

    December 16, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    I love Robert Ingpen’s artwork. Will definitely try to find this one. It looks great.

     

Leave a Reply

 
