RSS

What Are You Reading? (74) #IMWAYR – December 22, 2013

22 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Santaland-Production_1-750x414

I won free tickets to watch the play production of The Santaland Diaries, based on David Sedaris’ essay of the same name. It was hilarious as to be expected, the kind of humor you sort of feel guilty laughing about!

This week, I posted:

Reading Challenge: Mo Willems

Flashback Friday: My Reading Life 2011

Reading Challenge: Everybody Reads

Celebrate This Week– This was a good week. Celebrating bookselling, volunteering, blogging & the nerdlution community!

Is Your Mama A Llama? by Deborah Guarino, Illustrated by Steven Kellogg [**]- This has been recommended to me by a few customers and I’ve browsed it a few times myself. It’s a fun rhyming picture book that has an animal guessing game element that will appeal to kids.

Is Your Mama A Llama? by Deborah Guarino, Illustrated by Steven Kellogg [**]- This has been recommended to me by a few customers and I’ve browsed it a few times myself. It’s a fun rhyming picture book that has an animal guessing game element that will appeal to kids.

Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard [**]- A cute story about- spoiler alert!- a grumpy bird and the other animals he meets throughout the day.

Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard [**]- A cute story about- spoiler alert!- a grumpy bird and the other animals he meets throughout the day.

Aliens Love Underpants! by Claire Freedman, Illustrated by Ben Cort [*]- I didn’t hate it. I didn’t love it.

Aliens Love Underpants! by Claire Freedman, Illustrated by Ben Cort [*]- I didn’t hate it. I didn’t love it.

Silly Sally by Audrey Wood [**]- A fun story for beginning readers. I was surprised by the detail in illustrations since I wasn’t expecting it for some reason.

Silly Sally by Audrey Wood [**]- A fun story for beginning readers. I was surprised by the detail in illustrations since I wasn’t expecting it for some reason.

No, David! by David Shannon [**]- I let the first grader read this to me. It’s so nice to see when they respond to the stories. I’m always worried they won’t understand me because of my accent or the way I say some words.

No, David! by David Shannon [**]- I let the first grader read this to me. It’s so nice to see when they respond to the stories. I’m always worried they won’t understand me because of my accent or the way I say some words.

The Jellybeans and the Big Dance by Laura Joffe Numeroff and Nate Evans, Illustrated by Lynn Munsinger [*]- The kindergartener read this book all by herself. There were some difficult words but she powered through. I can’t say I liked it anymore now than the first time I had to read it.

The Jellybeans and the Big Dance by Laura Joffe Numeroff and Nate Evans, Illustrated by Lynn Munsinger [*]- The kindergartener read this book all by herself. There were some difficult words but she powered through. I can’t say I liked it anymore now than the first time I had to read it.

Sheila Rae, the Brave by Kevin Henkes [*]

Sheila Rae, the Brave by Kevin Henkes [*]

Advice to Little Girls by Mark Twain, Illustrated by Vladimir Radunsky [**]- I've been meaning to read this since it made some end of the year best-of lists and a customer special ordered it. Mark Twain is just great and witty and I love the "advice" he gives!

Advice to Little Girls by Mark Twain, Illustrated by Vladimir Radunsky [**]- I’ve been meaning to read this since it made some end of the year best-of lists and a customer special ordered it. Mark Twain is just great and witty and I love the “advice” he gives!

Hatter M, Vol. 4:  Zen of Wonder by Frank Beddor and Liz Cavalier, Illustrated by Sami Makkonen [*]- I was a big fan of The Looking Glass Wars and it was cool to have Hatter M have his own graphic novel spin-off but at this point I’m just waiting for it end- which sounds like one more in this series and at least a prequel, which I may not even read. The story has just become too “loose” for me. And I don’t like the illustrations.

Hatter M, Vol. 4: Zen of Wonder by Frank Beddor and Liz Cavalier, Illustrated by Sami Makkonen [*]- I was a big fan of The Looking Glass Wars and it was cool to have Hatter M have his own graphic novel spin-off but at this point I’m just waiting for it end- which sounds like one more in this series and at least a prequel, which I may not even read. The story has just become too “loose” for me. And I don’t like the illustrations.

The Elements of Style (Fourth Edition) by William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White [***- My Pick of the Week]- Who knew a rules book could be so enjoyable? I don’t know if it was Strunk, White, or whoever revised it for the fourth edition but there was a kind of snarkiness with the writing. I enjoyed it. I’ll definitely use this as reference since it’s very helpful- and portable. The English language is beautiful but confusing as well. Learning grammar is almost like a solving a mystery. I wonder how I’ll be able to compromise between my style and proper grammar. I am a firm believer in learning all the rules and mastering them first before ignoring them. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge.]

The Elements of Style (Fourth Edition) by William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White [***- My Pick of the Week]- Who knew a rules book could be so enjoyable? I don’t know if it was Strunk, White, or whoever revised it for the fourth edition but there was a kind of snarkiness with the writing. I enjoyed it. I’ll definitely use this as reference since it’s very helpful- and portable. The English language is beautiful but confusing as well. Learning grammar is almost like a solving a mystery. I wonder how I’ll be able to compromise between my style and proper grammar. I am a firm believer in learning all the rules and mastering them first before ignoring them. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge.]

What Does the Fox Say? by Ylvis, Christian Løchstøer, Illustrated by Svein Nyhus [*]- I first watched the video, I thought it would make a great picture book since kids tend to like animals and onomatopoeia. But, there’s something about an over-hyped product that makes me dislike it.

What Does the Fox Say? by Ylvis, Christian Løchstøer, Illustrated by Svein Nyhus [*]- I first watched the video, I thought it would make a great picture book since kids tend to like animals and onomatopoeia. But, there’s something about an over-hyped product that makes me dislike it.

and the cars go... by William Bee [**]- I enjoyed this cute picture book about different vehicles caught in a traffic jam. The illustrations are very detailed and there's a mini-game of finding the snails hidden in each two-page spread!

and the cars go… by William Bee [**]- I enjoyed this cute picture book about different vehicles caught in a traffic jam. The illustrations are very detailed and there’s a mini-game of finding the snails hidden in each two-page spread!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m rereading Christopher Pike’s Remember Me 2: The Return and started reading Patrick Ness’ More Than This and Daniel Quinn’s Ismael. Someone else recommended David Levithan’s Everyday so I want to read that as well!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? (74) #IMWAYR – December 22, 2013

  1. Laura Phelps

    December 23, 2013 at 6:57 am

    No, David! remains a perennial favorite in my elementary school library. Kids never tire of his antics, and neither do I!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    December 23, 2013 at 7:35 am

    Loved Santaland Diaries, still quite memorable a few years later! Hmm, maybe I need to add The Elements of Style to my personal reads… trying to start reading writing connected books… thanks! PS Really love seeing the book images, know you’ve been doing it a while but thought I’d mention… Good to read your opinion on What does the fox say? Hmm… Haven’t ordered yet…

     
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    December 23, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I loved Is Your Mama a Llama? when I was younger–I used to read it to my brother 🙂

    Happy reading this week! 🙂
    And happy holidays.

     
  4. Myra GB

    December 24, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Hi Earl, I have that Strunk and White title for the longest time, but haven’t really paid attention to the narrative. It was simply a to-go reference book for me when I had specific questions about narrative style, so interesting to know that you really liked it. The play you mentioned also sounded fun! I’ve been meaning to read Mark Twain’s book – would have wanted to give it to my 12 year old girl. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
