RSS

#FlashbackFriday (26)- My Reading Life 2012

27 Dec

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.



I read 324 books last year. Because of my multiple reading challenges (Caldecott, Dr. Seuss, and A to Z Picture Book Series), working at a children’s bookstore, and just because I enjoy those kinds of books anyway, 247 were picture books, including 9 board books.

My goal was to read at least 60 books that weren’t picture or board books and I ended up reading 77.

Being part of the #IMWAYR meme has been a great way to share some of my thoughts since I didn’t particularly enjoy using Goodreads.

Here are my most favorite books that I read over the past year- half of which were for children or young adults.

• The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
• The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
• Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
• Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke (Reread)
• Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White (Reread)
• The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

-excerpt, January 4, 2012

2012 was a great year. So many of my favorite books were read or reread that year.

It’s been interesting to see my thoughts back then- how they’ve changed or remained the same- and to read about things I said was going to do but completely forgot because that’s life sometimes.

This is the final #FlashbackFriday post. Thank you for letting me take a look back at some of my older entries.

 

Leave a Reply

 
