RSS

Celebrate This Week- December 28, 2013

28 Dec
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Welcome to the festive edition of Celebrate This Week!

polar

We were busy in the bookstore through Christmas Eve. Working in retail during the holidays, you tend to let out a huge sigh of relief for having survived the busy-ness of it all. At the same time, you wouldn’t have wanted it any other way! It seems many bookstores did well which I’m glad about since that meant many people chose to shop at and support their local independent bookstores!

Drawing on Imagination

I went to the library’s current exhibit featuring 11 local illustrators and authors/illustrators. I’m so impressed and inspired by their talent!

christiemas

I waited until the last minute but I finally put up my very own Agatha Christie-mas Book Tree!

For the second Christmas in a row, I volunteered to feed the homeless. I helped out in the kitchen cutting pies for them to serve. The experience was definitely rewarding and something I see myself doing for a long time.

lfl1

lfl2

On my way to my friend’s house for Christmas dinner, I spotted two Little Free Libraries! And, one of my favorite writers, Christopher Pike, shared the first chapter of a draft he’s working on. That was a real treat.

I love the new year- not so much the partying but taking the time to reflect on the past and planning for the future. I made a Literary Calendar, which I hope you check out and let me know what I’ve missed since it’s a work on progress.

I decided to participate in Sheila of Book Journey’s First Book of the Year Reading Challenge. I’m definitely one who likes to set the tone of my reading year with that first book. I was overthinking it this time around when it just seemed obvious what it should have been all along!

I also finally finished my A to Z Children’s Picture Book Series Reading Challenge!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- December 28, 2013

  1. Linda Baie

    December 28, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Hi Earl, you do, and did, so many “giving” things this year. Wonderful to help serve the pies, and all that you did about giving books was wonderful. I love your Agatha Christie tree-just right! Love her books too. I think I’ve read them all, but should re-read a few just for fun. Happy New Year to you, & thanks for sharing about Sheila’s challenge. I’ll look to see what that’s about!

     
  2. Leigh Anne

    December 28, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Many things to celebrate! I love the First Book of the Year Challenge. I will have to look at my to-be-read stack and choose the perfect one! Have a great week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
