RSS

What Are You Reading? (75) #IMWAYR – December 29, 2013

29 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

We Give Books: Christmas 2013

Drawing on Imagination: The Art of Children’s Illustration

Literary Calendar: What other kidlit events should I add? What events are you looking forward to?

Flashback Friday: My Reading Life 2012

Reading Challenge: A to Z Children’s Picture Book Series Challenge

Celebrate This Week: Festive Edition

A man walked in the bookstore today and said we had helped him last Christmas to find books for ten of his grandkids- I didn’t remember him but I remembered doing that!- and wanted to know if we’d do it again this year. Naturally, I said yes! I made a list of his grandchildren’s ages and reading levels and reading preferences and (I don’t know why it matters but it does) their sexes. I was free to pick out any book and to please gift wrap them for him. He then proceeded to do other errands and I was like a personal shopper picking out books. It was super fun, actually. Since he wasn’t going to get to see the books, I had written down why they were the perfect choice for each grandkid. I hope the books will be enjoyed!

list

Another interesting customer today was an aspiring children’s book author and illustrator. I love encouraging others to pursue their dreams. I like helping them find resources and giving them advice which is funny considering I need all the help I can get myself- even more so than they do!

Now, for the books:

Color Zoo by Lois Ehlert [*]- Cute concept book with cutout shapes that transform one animal into another. Also teaches color.

Color Zoo by Lois Ehlert [*]- Cute concept book with cutout shapes that transform one animal into another. Also teaches color.

Remember Me 2: The Return by Christopher Pike [***]- If ever there was a book that didn’t need a sequel, it was Remember Me. But like that first book in the trilogy, I must have reread Remember Me 2 a dozen times. This was around the time Pike’s books started to incorporate bigger spiritual parts into his stories. For a preteen, this was all totally new to me. But it was nice to hear more about one of my favorite characters. A customer the other day mentioned that the YA books she read helped shape her beliefs. I would say the same for Pike’s books with me. There are some parts that made me go, “So that’s where I got that idea about spirituality from.”

Remember Me 2: The Return by Christopher Pike [***]- If ever there was a book that didn’t need a sequel, it was Remember Me. But like that first book in the trilogy, I must have reread Remember Me 2 a dozen times. This was around the time Pike’s books started to incorporate bigger spiritual parts into his stories. For a preteen, this was all totally new to me. But it was nice to hear more about one of my favorite characters. A customer the other day mentioned that the YA books she read helped shape her beliefs. I would say the same for Pike’s books with me. There are some parts that made me go, “So that’s where I got that idea about spirituality from.” [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

Frosty the Snowman by Steve Nelson and Jack Rollins, Illustrated by Richard Cowdrey

Frosty the Snowman by Steve Nelson and Jack Rollins, Illustrated by Richard Cowdrey


My review here.

It's an Orange Aardvark! by Michael Hall- Release date: April 22, 2014

It’s an Orange Aardvark! by Michael Hall- Release date: April 22, 2014

Everyone Out Here Knows by William Stafford, Illustrated by Angelina Marino-Heidel [**]- William Stafford's poem about Bigfoot in picture book format is one of Oregon Reads 2014's selection celebrating the centennial of WIlliam Stafford.

Everyone Out Here Knows by William Stafford, Illustrated by Angelina Marino-Heidel [**]- William Stafford’s poem about Bigfoot in picture book format is one of Oregon Reads 2014’s selection celebrating the centennial of WIlliam Stafford.


For more information about Oregon Reads 2014, click here.

The House that Mouse Built by Maggie Rudy and Pam Abrams, Photographs by Bruce Wolf [***- My Pick of the Week]- I was absolutely smitten by this story about two mice who fall in love with one another, told through intricately crafted miniature scenes. I've been wanting to read this ever since Maggie Rudy did a Halloween diorama for our store using her characters from this book. And then, I saw one of the sets during the Drawing on Imagination exhibit and rushed to read the book!

The House that Mouse Built by Maggie Rudy and Pam Abrams, Photographs by Bruce Wolf [***- My Pick of the Week]- I was absolutely smitten by this story about two mice who fall in love with one another, told through intricately crafted miniature scenes. I’ve been wanting to read this ever since Maggie Rudy did a Halloween diorama for our store using her characters from this book. And then, I saw one of the sets during the Drawing on Imagination exhibit and rushed to read the book!

Herman and Rosie by Gus Gordon [**]- I didn't have any intention of reading this picture book until I read some good reviews of it by IMWAYR bloggers. It's quite a lovely story although I can't see kids being able to relate to the story completely. I wonder how it would be marketed towards adults?

Herman and Rosie by Gus Gordon [**]- I didn’t have any intention of reading this picture book until I read some good reviews of it by IMWAYR bloggers. It’s quite a lovely story although I can’t see kids being able to relate to the story completely. I wonder how it would be marketed towards adults?

Richard Wright and the Library Card by William Miller, Illustrated by Gregory Christie [**]- This is a fictionalized account of Richard Wright's experience as a black man in the 1920's. Not being able to check out books from the library, he befriends a white man who lets him experience a kind of freedom that books provide.

Richard Wright and the Library Card by William Miller, Illustrated by Gregory Christie [**]- This is a fictionalized account of Richard Wright’s experience as a black man in the 1920’s. Not being able to check out books from the library, he befriends a white man who lets him experience a kind of freedom that books provide.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading Daniel Quinn’s Ishmael and Christopher Pike’s Remember Me 3: The Last Story. I hope to finish them by the end of the year.

I’m also planning on new posts through the new year!

Also, I’m participating in Book Journey’s First Book of the Year Reading Challenge. My pick is:

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (75) #IMWAYR – December 29, 2013

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)

    December 29, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Such cute books!

     
  2. Gigi McAllister

    December 30, 2013 at 2:35 am

    Such a great bunch of books! I love the story of the grandfather buying books for his grandkids. That must have been so much fun! Happy New Year!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    December 30, 2013 at 6:27 am

    I’ll definitely look for The House That Mouse Built-looks terrific, Earl. And thanks for sharing about the Stafford book-I love his poetry, so know that will be good! And, love hearing your stories from the bookstore. In my ‘other’ life, I always thought it would be wonderful to work in a bookstore! Happy New Year!

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    December 30, 2013 at 6:58 am

    What a nice assortment of books. I like your pick for the first of 2014 too. Come see my Monday Report here. Happy reading and happy new year!

     
  5. The Styling Librarian

    December 30, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Interesting to read your opinion on Herman and Rosie, thanks… Maggie Rudy is quite the talent. Loved looking at her creations at an authors/illustrators fair years ago… Happy reading week to you!

     
  6. Tea Time with Marce

    December 30, 2013 at 7:53 am

    I read a Christmas Agatha Christie, it was so good.

     
  7. Myra GB

    December 30, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    Hi there Earl, I haven’t read any of Christopher Pike’s novels, it’s interesting to hear your take on them. Something I’d keep in mind. We have the Richard Wright book in our library as I asked our librarian to purchase it for our institution. Can’t wait to visit our library and finally check it out. 🙂 Have a joyful new year, Earl!

     
  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    December 30, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    I LOVED Christopher Pike when I was younger, but haven’t read any of his things since high school–I may have to remedy that! Been seeing good things about Herman and Rosie; glad to see you liked it too.
    Also, what an awesome job of being a personal book shopper. I think that may just be a great job 🙂

    Happy new year and happy reading!

     
  9. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    January 3, 2014 at 6:51 am

    I love the fact that you got to “blind pick” all those books. How exciting! I don’t think I’ve ever read any Pike…

    I totally need the Wright book. That would be amazing for my unit on Civil Rights.

     

Leave a Reply

 
