RSS

Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

01 Jan

firstbookoftheyear

Agatha Christie is one of my favorite writers. I remember being introduced to her in elementary school. At that time, I was sure I was going to be a detective when I grew up because I was able to solve Donald J. Sobol’s Two-Minute Mysteries without having to flip the book to figure out whodunit and how! I fancied myself as the living incarnate of Encyclopedia Brown.

One day, finding myself with nothing to read, I stumbled upon an Agatha Christie omnibus. I’ve been trying to recall what stories they were. It may have had three novels- or five. It may have included Cards on the Table, Thirteen at Dinner, Elephants Can Remember, or any or none of those combinations. All I know for sure was that it introduced me to the Belgian detective with his egg-shaped head, famous mustache, and amazing deduction skills using his “little grey cells.”

I didn’t understand everything I was reading then- especially the French words- and I still don’t- but I was hooked. Agatha Christie is able to tell a story that’s just so well-crafted everyone can enjoy it. The more I read of her books, the more amazed I was. I tended to read mostly the Poirot mysteries but have read a few of her stand-alone books, including some Miss Marple and Tommy and Tuppence.

When Harper Collins began republishing her entire work, I knew I wanted to start collecting them! It would give me a reason to read everything she’s written. According to the websites I’ve read, she’s written 66 detective novels, 14 short story collections, 19 plays, and 6 novels written under the pseudonym, Mary Westmacott.

I have no specific timeline to complete this reading challenge but I know I probably won’t finish it this year. I’m going to read them in chronological order. I’m going to enjoy the books and perhaps learn a thing or two about how to write great stories from “the Queen of Mystery!”

One of my other reading goals is to take a sort of mini writing retreat at the Sylvia Beach Hotel where their rooms are named after writers. I’m hoping to stay at the Agatha Christie room, of course. I had taken a tour of some of the rooms last summer and fell in love with the place!

room101

I’m also participating in Book Journey’s First Book of the Year. To kick things off, my choice is Agatha Christie’s The Mysterious Affair at Styles.

1stbook

Happy New Year!

Happy Reading!

 

6 responses to “Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

  1. Tea Time with Marce

    January 1, 2014 at 10:18 am

    I read a Christmas Agatha Christie, very special.

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    January 1, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    Love the picture!!! Thanks for participating and Happy Reading!

     
  3. Cynthia

    January 1, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I love Agatha Christie. Hope you enjoy your first read. Happy New Year!

    Cynthia
    The Things You Can Read
    http://www.thethingsyoucanread.blogspot.com

     
  4. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

    January 1, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    I know that when I pick up an Agatha Christie novel it will be excellent! Happy New Year.

     
  5. Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews)

    January 2, 2014 at 6:41 am

    Anything Agatha Christie is good. ENJOY!!

    Nice photo!! I love seeing the people “behind” the blog.

    Happy New Year!!

    Stop by my blog from January 2 to January 11 for an international giveaway of Jubilee’s Journey.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My First Book of The Year

     
  6. cleopatralovesbooks

    January 4, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Fantastic choice for the first book of the year. My choice A Very British Murder had a section about Agatha Christie which has made me want to re-read some of her books. I’m going for The Murder of Roger Ackroyd which was my favourite. Have a great Agatha Christie reading year 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
