RSS

What Are You Reading? (76) #IMWAYR – January 5, 2014

05 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I can’t believe this is my 200th post! Woo-hoo! This is definitely a celebratory moment!

I had been posting everyday since Christmas and I was feeling kind of burnt out from blogging but this is such a great way to share my passion for books, my commitment to literacy, and to connect with like-minded people!

Today was a great example of why I being a bookseller. Got lots done. Nice people. So many opportunities to share my book love!‬

I may have mentioned that my boss at work chose Mercy Corp as the recipient for our Gift Wrapping for a Cause Program during the holiday season. We wrapped a total of 131 packages and she rounded it up to a $150 donation to help the victims of Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines. I invite you to like the Green Bean Books Facebook page to see what we’re up to and the occasional book reviews.

Speaking of work book reviews, you can read our thoughts on some art and art-related books over at NW Kids Magazine, online edition, page 36. Seeing my name in print is quite nice, if I may say so myself!

I updated my Reading Challenges page with this year’s. And, I really hope that you’ll read my Commitment to Literacy: One Book post and participate in it!

This week, I posted:

Favorite Books of 2013
Celebrate This Year 2013
Agatha Christie Reading Challenge
Looking Forward 2014
Commitment to Literacy: One Book
Celebrate This Week– 2014 is all about the moments.


-The Secret Circus by Johanna Wright [**]
-Bandits by Johanna Wright [*]
I decided to read these two picture books after visiting the Drawing on Imagination exhibit featuring 11 local illustrators and author/illustrators. The Secret Circus has such a sweet element to it that’s perfect for bedtime.

Recipe by Angela and Michaelanne Petrella, Illustrated by  Mike Bertino and Erin Althea [**]- My boss found this ridiculously quirky book which I'll be reviewing for next month's NW Kids so stay tuned for that.

Recipe by Angela and Michaelanne Petrella, Illustrated by Mike Bertino and Erin Althea [**]- My boss found this ridiculously quirky book which I’ll be reviewing for next month’s NW Kids so stay tuned for that.

Bluffton by Matt Phelan [***]- I've been hearing great reviews of this book, and I was familiar with and enjoyed The Storm in the Barn. I've heard of Buster Keaton but couldn't place him exactly so I didn't know what I was getting into. But the beautiful illustrations kept me moving from one panel to the next, one page after the other. Before I knew it, I was engrossed in the story of two boys who come of age together over multiple summers. Every character came alive. Every scene played out like a movie. I immediately recommended it to someone at the store- and they bought it! Last minute addition to my Favorite Graphic Novel of 2013 contender.

Bluffton by Matt Phelan [***]- I’ve been hearing great reviews of this book, and I was familiar with and enjoyed The Storm in the Barn. I’ve heard of Buster Keaton but couldn’t place him exactly so I didn’t know what I was getting into. But the beautiful illustrations kept me moving from one panel to the next, one page after the other. Before I knew it, I was engrossed in the story of two boys who come of age together over multiple summers. Every character came alive. Every scene played out like a movie. I immediately recommended it to someone at the store- and they bought it! Last minute addition to my Favorite Graphic Novel of 2013 contender.

Ishmael by Daniel Quinn [****]- This may be added to my favorite books because it's very much in alignment with my beliefs. If you enjoyed The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield- and "alignment" (as in "alignment with my goals/passion/dreams/beliefs") is part of your vocabulary- then you'll want to read this book as well!

Ishmael by Daniel Quinn [****]- This may be added to my favorite books because it’s very much in alignment with my beliefs. If you enjoyed The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield- and “alignment” (as in “alignment with my goals/passion/dreams/beliefs”) is part of your vocabulary- then you’ll want to read this book as well!

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie [****]- Absolutely brilliant! I will compile a more thorough review with the other Agatha Christie novels I read towards the end of the month! [Agatha Christie challenge]

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie [****]- My first book read in 2014! Absolutely brilliant! I will compile a more thorough review with the other Agatha Christie novels I read towards the end of the month! [Agatha Christie challenge]

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry [***]- I'll be adding the Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge 2014 to my already long list of reading challenges. This review will be up for Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday.

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry [***]- I’ll be adding the Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge 2014 to my already long list of reading challenges. This review will be up for Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday.

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead [**]- Learn what not to do in this sweet tale of a boy and his dog in search of this majestic aquatic creature. Readers will find a nice surprise if they look hard enough!

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead [***]- Learn what not to do in this sweet tale of a boy and his dog in search of this majestic aquatic creature. Readers will find a nice surprise if they look hard enough!

Earthling! by Mark Fearing [***]- I don't know what I was expecting but I was very surprised to like it as much as I do. This will be a perfect recommendation for boys who want a good adventure story with plenty of heart and plenty of humor!

Earthling! by Mark Fearing [***]- I don’t know what I was expecting but I was very surprised to like it as much as I do. This will be a perfect recommendation for boys who want a good adventure story with plenty of heart and plenty of humor!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish Christopher Pike’s Remember Me 3: The Last Story this week. I started Sonia Sotomayor’s My Beloved World for my Everybody Reads reading challenge. I’m also reading Tony Abbott’s first book in a new series that comes out January 7th.

Have a great reading week!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? (76) #IMWAYR – January 5, 2014

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    January 5, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    Congrats on your 200th post!
    Have a fab week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

     
  2. Kristen H. (@bookgoil)

    January 5, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    That’s amazing what you did this holiday! I really loved Bluffton and know my students dig Earthling.

    Books We Read

     
  3. eternalised

    January 6, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Earthling looks great. What a lovely illustrations. Enjoy!

    Take a look at what I’m reading this week.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    January 6, 2014 at 7:17 am

    Congrats on your 200th post, Earl! Quite a feat to keep on isn’t it? I need to read Bluffton, will do it soon. I like your one book challenge, will try to send a pic soon! And one of my favorite books of the year is If You Want To See A Whale-just wonderful! Thanks for all!

     
  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    January 6, 2014 at 11:13 am

    I read almost all of Agatha Christie’s books when I was younger because it was something I shared with my grandmother. Enjoy them! She is brilliant.

     
  6. Sheila (Book Journey)

    January 6, 2014 at 11:42 am

    Such fun looking reads!

     
  7. Brunette Librarian

    January 6, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    The books looks super cute 🙂

    Happy Reading This Week!! The Brunette Librarian’s Blog

     
  8. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

    January 6, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    Congrats on your 200th post. My brother’s and I good fun argue over who should get custody of my Grandmother’s Agatha books. Have a great week.

     
  9. Myra GB

    January 6, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Hi there Earl. I enjoyed The Celestine Prophecy around twelve years back when I read it. I paired it with Thomas Moore’s Soul Mates/Care for the Soul and Conversations with God by Neale Donald Walsch. Did you know that there’s actually a picture book version of Celestine Prophecy called “The Song of Celestine” – I think it’s made to be a visual companion more than anything else. I hope to read Bluffton soonest! 🙂 Have a great reading week!

     
  10. Carrie Gelson (@CarrieGelson)

    January 6, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    Love Tree Lady! I will look forward to your review This was one of my very favourite titles of 2013 in the NF category!

     
  11. Beth

    January 6, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Fun books. I just gave my 12 year old his first Agatha Christie, and I hope it takes. Congrats on hitting 200 posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
