RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

08 Jan
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of nonfiction books but, more often than not, when I do end up reading them, I end up liking them. Some of the best picture books I enjoyed last year were nonfiction- The Boy Who Loved Math, A Splash of Red, and You Are Stardust.

I guess sometimes I get confused what counts as nonfiction. Does it have to be 100% factual? What if it’s a fictionalized account of someone’s life? When I think of nonfiction for kids, I think textbook-y types but fewer pages.

I decided to participate in this year’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge because what’s one more reading challenge, right?

Here are my reviews for this week:

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry [***]

The Tree Lady by H. Joseph Hopkins, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry [***]

Lots of customers have been looking for books with strong female characters who do more than play dress up and wish to be princesses. This is a great example of a book that goes beyond the typical “girl book.” Find out about Kate Sessions who was able to turn a dry desert landscape into a green paradise.

Pair this with Me, Jane and Rosie Revere, Engineer for a sort-of Career Day type of reading for girls.

I didn’t think I would like this book as much. But I did! (And I didn’t realize the author was local.)

Frog Song by Brenda Z. Guiberson, Illustrated by Gennady Spirin [***]

Frog Song by Brenda Z. Guiberson, Illustrated by Gennady Spirin [***]

Linda wrote about this book. And, even just browsing through the book, it seemed like one of those titles that practically sold itself. Onomatopoeia is very popular with kids. Parents tend to love beautiful illustrations which this book definitely has. Both sets of readers will enjoy this together while learning about various types. Fascinating! Fantastic!

(I don’t think I’ve ever run across the word “moist” as much as I did with this book!)

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

  1. Debra @DebraRosenquist

    January 8, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Frog Song is fabulous. The illustrations are awesome and I love how the facts are told in a narrative fashion. This book is on my Mock Caldecott list.

     
  2. alybee930

    January 8, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Earl – I tend to keep a broad perspective on nonfiction – narrative biographies, more factual type books, historical fiction with end notes, poetry, and more. Glad you are joining in and you picked two great ones to start with. 🙂

     
  3. Adrienne Gear

    January 8, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Earl – thanks for the book recommendations. Coincidentally, my NF Picture Book post today included another book about Frog Songs! This one would be a great companion to Noisy Frog Sing Along – John Himmelman. Love The Tree Lady!

     
  4. ejmam

    January 9, 2014 at 12:12 am

    I have the same problem with figuring out what is non-fiction. I’m glad I’m not a librarian and having to choose where to shelve stuff. It’s kind of the same thing with picture book poetry — lots of picture books rhyme, so when do you decide something is a poetry book? Sometimes it’s clear and sometimes it’s not.

     
  5. carriegelson

    January 9, 2014 at 7:00 am

    The Tree Lady is just the most wonderful book. The cover alone is a reason to love this book. But it has so much more to offer – as you point out – an important story about an important woman and how her passion was transformative for a city.

     

Leave a Reply

 
