RSS

Review: Remember Me

10 Jan

Christopher Pike’s books hold a special place in my heart. Rereading the Remember Me trilogy has been like a having a time machine to certain moments in my life, reliving thoughts associated with those books.

Remember Me

I must have read this book at least a dozen times when I was younger. It’s definitely one of my favorite Christopher Pike books. I can still recite the first few lines from memory.

“Most people would probably call me a ghost. I am, after all, dead. But I don’t think of myself that way. It wasn’t so long ago that I was alive, you see. I was only eighteen. I had my whole life ahead of me.”

With a hint of sex and a peppering of spirituality here and there, Christopher Pike’s books were not like the typical YA offerings of his time, nor of this time. They felt forbidden and exciting. And, there was a sense that his stories were all somehow related, referencing one another.

I will always remember Shari Cooper. She’s one of my favorite literary characters.

Remember Me 2: The Return

If ever there was a book that didn’t need a sequel, it was Remember Me. But like that first book in this trilogy, I must have reread Remember Me 2 a dozen times. This was around the time Pike’s books started to incorporate bigger spiritual parts into his stories. For a preteen, this was all totally new to me.

It was nice to read more about these characters.

A customer the other day mentioned that the YA books she read helped shape her beliefs. I would say the same for Pike’s books with me. There are some parts that made me go, “So that’s where I got that idea about spirituality from.”

Remember Me 3: The Last Story

It was a pleasure rereading this book. There was also a sadness having to say goodbye to Shari Cooper again.

There were a lot of tongue-in-cheek references to a writer’s life that I’m sure were straight out of Pike’s personal experiences. Another thing that he also often does, usually when his protagonist is a writer, is to include a story they’ve written. In this case, it was a short story “The Starlight Crystal” not to be confused with his novel of the same name. It’s always cool to see glimpses like these from writers you admire.

I still remember the first time I finished reading this book, how when I closed the book, that’s when I decided I wanted to be a writer. All those years ago! And, having had plenty of opportunities to talk to other Pike fans, I know he’s been that kind of inspiration for many aspiring writers as well.

It’s incredible to me how much of my growth as a human being- my beliefs and my dreams- have been defined by Christoher Pike’s books!

My other Christopher Pike review posts:
Witch World
Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil

 

One response to “Review: Remember Me

  1. cocolaelle

    January 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

    Nicee

     

Leave a Reply

 
