RSS

What Are You Reading? (77) #IMWAYR – January 12, 2014

12 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Here are some shelftalkers I made at work recently:

How to Paint the Portrait of a Bird by Jacques Prévert, Illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein [**]- This was a wonderful find just straightening the shelves at work. A fun and playful guide on how to draw. So creative! And the illustrations are great!

How to Paint the Portrait of a Bird by Jacques Prévert, Illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein [**]- This was a wonderful find just straightening the shelves at work. A fun and playful guide on how to draw. So creative! And the illustrations are great!

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead [***]- Learn what not to do in this sweet tale of a boy and his dog in search of this majestic aquatic creature. Readers will find a nice surprise if they look hard enough!

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano, Illustrated by Erin E. Stead [***]- Learn what not to do in this sweet tale of a boy and his dog in search of this majestic aquatic creature. Readers will find a nice surprise if they look hard enough!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Review: Remember Me– It’s incredible to me how much of my growth as a human being- my beliefs and my dreams- have been defined by Christopher Pike’s books!
Celebrate This Week– Libraries and Music

Brimsby's Hats by Andrew Prahin [**]- Charming story about friendship- the richness it has and the challenges of looking for and finding one.

Brimsby’s Hats by Andrew Prahin [**]- Charming story about friendship- the richness it has and the challenges of looking for and finding one.

Baby Bear by Kadir Nelson [**]- Definitely an early contender for the 2014 Caldecott. A bear cub asks for advice on how to get get back home from certain animals but finds their words more comforting than useful.

Baby Bear by Kadir Nelson [**]- Definitely an early contender for the 2014 Caldecott. A bear cub asks for advice on how to get get back home from certain animals but finds their words more comforting than useful.

Monday is One Day by Arthur Levine, Illustrated by Julian Hector [**]- Perfect for working parents and their children! Showcasing different types of families, this picture book provides a comforting message that time away from one another doesn’t diminish the relationship- and can actually be used to create even more meaningful time together.

Monday is One Day by Arthur Levine, Illustrated by Julian Hector [**]- Perfect for working parents and their children! Showcasing different types of families, this picture book provides a comforting message that time away from one another doesn’t diminish the relationship- and can actually be used to create even more meaningful time together.

The Big Wish by Carolyn Conahan  [**]- Author/Illustrator part of the Drawing on Imagination exhibit I went to. It was better than I expected.

The Big Wish by Carolyn Conahan [**]- Author/Illustrator part of the Drawing on Imagination exhibit I went to. It was better than I expected.

rm3
-Remember Me 3: The Last Story by Christopher Pike [****- My Pick of the Week]- Read my review here. [Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]

Fossil by Bill Thomson [*]- This wordless picture book takes readers on a wild adventure as a boy finds some fossils that suddenly come to life!

Fossil by Bill Thomson [*]- This wordless picture book takes readers on a wild adventure as a boy finds some fossils that suddenly come to life!

Eat Like a Bear by April Pulley Sayre, Illustrated by Steve Jenkins [***]- This review will be up for Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday.

Eat Like a Bear by April Pulley Sayre, Illustrated by Steve Jenkins [***]- This review will be up for Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday.

Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Charles Vess [***]- This poem was originally written for Neil Gaiman's friend. A powerful message to share with any girl or woman beautifully paired with wild and unique illustrations. Perfect for fans of Robert Munsch's The Paper Bag Princess.

Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Charles Vess [***]- This poem was originally written for Neil Gaiman’s friend. A powerful message to share with any girl or woman beautifully paired with wild and unique illustrations. Perfect for fans of Robert Munsch’s The Paper Bag Princess.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to read Virginia Lee Burton’s books for my Reading Challenge and to post about it on Friday.

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (77) #IMWAYR – January 12, 2014

  1. The Styling Librarian

    January 13, 2014 at 6:10 am

    Nice shelftalkers, I’m inspired! 🙂

     
  2. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 13, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Earl,
    As always, thanks for sharing these great books with us. I always trust your judgment on children’s books because you are so well-read! Have a fantastic reading week!
    Ricki 🙂

     
  3. Sheila (Book Journey)

    January 13, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    Look at all those beautiful books!

     
  4. Myra GB

    January 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    I also enjoyed Gaiman and Vess’ Instructions. Have you read that picturebook yet? You make me want to read a Christopher Pike novel. The Gerstein book also caught my eye, will search for that one. 🙂

     
  5. Linda Baie

    January 13, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    I love your Shelftalkers, Earl-two of my favorite books this year! And I do love the other bear books you reviewed. The Peter Jenkins book is just marvelous! I like the looks of Brimsby’s Hats and The Big Wish-have bookmarked both! thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: