RSS

What Are You Reading? (78) #IMWAYR – January 19, 2014

19 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme! If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

First of all, even though I’ve only been away from the bookstore a few days, I loved being back today and being a bookseller.

ask me

Yesterday, I was able to attend an Oregon Reads event celebrating the life and works of the state’s most famous poet, William Stafford. I love community reading projects- and to have it be statewide is just awesome to me! They handed out copies of Ask Me, a collection of 100 of his essential poems.

His son, Kim Stafford, was the featured speaker. He is such a great supporter of libraries and I’m always excited to hear him speak. He, too, has a way with words. The stories he shared about his father were the kind that makes one nod their head as if coming to the conclusion, “Yes, I can see why people come together to celebrate him.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Reading Challenge: Virginia Lee Burton
Celebrate This Week

Catwings; Catwings Return; Wonderful Alexander and the Catwings; Jane on Her Own [***]

Catwings [***]; Catwings Return [**]; Wonderful Alexander and the Catwings [**]; Jane on Her Own [**]


Who knew I’d like books about cats? Catwings is simply PURR-fect! Sweet and full of wonder, these are great books for read-alouds. Get all four books in the series by Portland author Ursula K. Le Guin and illustrated by S. D. Schindler!

Choo Choo [**]; Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel [***]; Calico the Wonder Horse or the Saga of Stewy Stinker [***];  Katy and the Big Snow by Virginia Lee Burton [**]; Maybelle the Cable Car by Virginia Lee Burton [**]; Life Story by Virginia Lee Burton [***]

Choo Choo [**]; Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel [***]; Calico the Wonder Horse or the Saga of Stewy Stinker [***]; Katy and the Big Snow [**]; Maybelle the Cable Car [**]; Life Story [***]


Read my reviews of these books here.

Ricky Vargas #1: The Funniest Kid in the World by Alan Katz, Illustrated by Stacy Curtis [*]- I can see why kids would like this but may be because I'm an old man but I just found his behavior to be disruptive! But the humor and plenty of illustrations in this early chapter book will be appealing to young readers.

Ricky Vargas #1: The Funniest Kid in the World by Alan Katz, Illustrated by Stacy Curtis [*]- I can see why kids would like this but may be because I’m an old man but I just found his behavior to be disruptive! But the humor and plenty of illustrations in this early chapter book will be appealing to young readers.

Lunch Walks Among Us By Jim  Benton [***]- This is the first book in the Franny K. Stein, Mad Scientist early chapter book series. I enjoyed it as much as the many customers who've recommended it to me. I found Franny to be refreshing- confident and yet insecure at the same time, completely herself but aware. I definitely want to see if these character traits continue on or it just serves this book's plot!

Lunch Walks Among Us By Jim Benton [***]- This is the first book in the Franny K. Stein, Mad Scientist early chapter book series. I enjoyed it as much as the many customers who’ve recommended it to me. I found Franny to be refreshing- confident and yet insecure at the same time, completely herself but aware. I definitely want to see if these character traits continue on or it just serves this book’s plot!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to Alexander McCall Smith’s The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon. I also picked up some impulse library books!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (78) #IMWAYR – January 19, 2014

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)

    January 20, 2014 at 5:22 am

    Great looking reads!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    January 20, 2014 at 6:10 am

    I love Oregon Reads events, sorry to miss them now but glad to keep up through your eyes, thanks! 🙂 I love the Catwings series as well… The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon- reading about this reminds me that I’m so far behind on those books, think I got through #5… but such is life. I like his new early chapter book mystery series…

     
  3. Linda Baie

    January 20, 2014 at 6:42 am

    How wonderful that you got to attend the reception and celebration for William Stafford. His poetry is a treasure. Thanks for all the other reviews, too, Earl!

     
  4. Tara Smith

    January 20, 2014 at 7:29 am

    Wow for the William Stafford reception -I love his poetry. Catwings is a special book, and is Mike Mulligan – so cool to see them on your list!

     
  5. Fats Suela

    January 21, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    Lots of cat books on your list this week, Earl! I’m not much of a cat person, and I’m not much of a cat book reader, either. The last cat book I remember reading was Varjak Paw by S.F. Said and Dave McKean. Franny K. Stein looks fantastic! I love the devious look on her face! =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
