RSS

What Are You Reading? (79) #IMWAYR – January 26, 2014

26 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I’m so excited about the Youth Media Awards! I’m planning on waking up at 5am to watch it live and will be talking about it practically all day- with my boss before work, at work with customers, and (perhaps) during the launch of the children’s literature book club for adults I started- Young @ Heart. Hopefully, I can blog about this bookish-sounding day.

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week– Celebrating random hearts, Gretchen Rubin & Tim Federle!

The Book That Eats People by John Perry, Illustrated by Mark Fearing [*]- I forgot to include this last week. The illustrator is local. And, it's about a book. I was disappointed.

The Book That Eats People by John Perry, Illustrated by Mark Fearing [*]- I forgot to include this last week. The illustrator is local. And, it’s about a book. I was disappointed.

 Jim Henson by Kathleen Krull, Illustrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher [***]

Jim Henson by Kathleen Krull, Illustrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher [***]


Read my review here.

What's Your Favorite Animal? by Eric Carle and Friends [**]- Eric Carle and a few other illustrators share their favorite animals in their unique distinctive styles. Great for encouraging kids to think about and draw their own favorite animal!

What’s Your Favorite Animal? by Eric Carle and Friends [**]- Eric Carle and a few other illustrators share their favorite animals in their unique distinctive styles. Great for encouraging kids to think about and draw their own favorite animal!

A Letter for Bear by David Lucas [**]- A cute Christmas story about a mailman who happens to be a bear who feels blue since he doesn't get any letters himself.

A Letter for Bear by David Lucas [**]- A cute Christmas story about a mailman who happens to be a bear who feels blue since he doesn’t get any letters himself.

Who Says Women Can't Be Doctors? by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Marjorie Priceman [***]

Who Says Women Can’t Be Doctors? by Tanya Lee Stone, Illustrated by Marjorie Priceman [***]


Read my review here.

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon by Alexander McCall Smith [**]- As I always say with the books in this series, reading them is like meeting friends over tea. It's a guaranteed cozy time.

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon by Alexander McCall Smith [**]- As I always say with the books in this series, reading them is like meeting friends over tea. It’s a guaranteed cozy time.

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke, Translated by Stephen Mitchell [*****]

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke, Translated by Stephen Mitchell [*****]


This is one of my favorite books. I reread it as my Commitment to Literacy: One Book pick so expect a post soon. And, perhaps a giveaway. I hope you will consider thinking of your One Book!

Hearts by Thereza Rowe [*]- I was more fascinated by the concept of Toon Books than the actual story. They bill themselves as "the first high-quality comics for kids ages three and up."

Hearts by Thereza Rowe [*]- I was more fascinated by the concept of Toon Books than the actual story. They bill themselves as “the first high-quality comics for kids ages three and up.”

Maude by Lauren Child, Illustrated by Trisha Krauss [**]- A surprisingly good and entertaining picture book. Think The Royal Tenenbaums and Arrested Development.

Maude by Lauren Child, Illustrated by Trisha Krauss [**]- A surprisingly good and entertaining picture book. Think The Royal Tenenbaums and Arrested Development.

Five, Six, Seven, Nate! by Tim Federle [***- My Pick of the Week]

Five, Six, Seven, Nate! by Tim Federle [***- My Pick of the Week]


Read my review here.

Numero by Marion Bataille [*]- I felt underwhelmed with this one especially after enjoying ABC3D and 10.

Numero by Marion Bataille [*]- I felt underwhelmed with this one especially after enjoying ABC3D and 10.

Around the World by Matt Phelan [***]- In this graphic novel, we fellow three people determined to make it around the world through various means. Matt Phelan has a way with words and images that makes me excited anytime I pick up a book of his!

Around the World by Matt Phelan [***]- In this graphic novel, we fellow three people determined to make it around the world through various means. Matt Phelan has a way with words and images that makes me excited anytime I pick up a book of his!

-Yummy Ice Cream by Emma Quay, Anna Walker [**]
-Good Night, Sleep Tight by Emma Quay, Anna Walker [**]
-Let’s Play House by Emma Quay, Anna Walker [**]
These were a good addition to my A to Z Picture Book Series Challenge. They remind me a little bit of Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie series but for an even younger crowd!

npbc1

npbc2

npbc3

npbc4

-Nest by Jorey Hurley
-Martin de Porre by Gary D. Schmidt, Illustrated by David Diaz
-Chickens Don’t Fly: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and -Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald
-Hippos Can’t Swim: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and -Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald
Expect review this Wednesday for these nonfiction picture books!

Explorer 2: The Lost Islands Edited by Kazu Kibuishi [**]- Once again a good compilation to test out various graphic novelists' styles.

Explorer 2: The Lost Islands Edited by Kazu Kibuishi [**]- Once again a good compilation to test out various graphic novelists’ styles.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finally finish Sonia Sotomayor’s My Beloved World. I also picked up some library books which included E.B. White’s Stuart Little and I’m finding it quite delightful so far!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (79) #IMWAYR – January 26, 2014

  1. eternalised

    January 27, 2014 at 12:37 am

    Love the cover of HIppos Can’t Swim. Seems like you’ve got a lot of great reads here. Enjoy!

    Take a look at what I’m reading this week.

     
  2. Fats Suela

    January 27, 2014 at 12:52 am

    I am curious about The Book That Eats People and Explorer: The Lost Islands. I love the cover designs of Who Says Women Can’t Be Doctor? and Three Remarkable Journeys Around the World. I haven’t read both, so thanks for sharing these. I also have yet to read Rilke’s Letters to a Young Poet. I’ve definitely heard lots of good things about it.

     
  3. leydylaura

    January 27, 2014 at 4:46 am

    Love the covers, very cute. Happy reading

    This is what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

     
  4. Linda Baie

    January 27, 2014 at 6:30 am

    Wow-so many good books this past week, Earl! I know the Matt Phelan book-very good read. I need to find the one about Jim Henson-what gifts he left for us! And thanks for the reminder about the Nate book-they are fun! Have a great day! I’m excited about the awards too!

     
  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    January 27, 2014 at 7:17 am

    There are so many excellent-looking books here! I need to read the Nate series by Tim Federle. They all look so good. I also am really interested in reading that graphic novel by Matt Phelan. It looks like an interesting story. Have a great reading week!

     
  6. Tara Smith

    January 27, 2014 at 9:39 am

    A wow from me, too! Great books hetre Earl – my favorite is the Rilke. I still have my copy from high school!

     
  7. Lorna

    January 27, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Love, love Federle’s Nate. Can’t wait for the second title to come into the library. My youngest just finished one of Alexander McCall Smith’s mysteries for young readers and she absolutely adored it. I enjoyed a few of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books myself!

     
  8. Holly Mueller

    January 28, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    I’ve not read Around the World. I need to. I’m excited to read the Tim Federle novels! Love the cover of NEST! Great books featured here!

     

Leave a Reply

 
