RSS

What Are You Reading? (80) #IMWAYR – February 2, 2014

02 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Reading Resolutions: January Update
Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating readers and book lovers.

Beatrice Doesn't Want To by Laura Joffe Numeroff, Illustrated by Lynn Munsinger [*]- I forgot to include this is an earlier #IMWAYR post. I read this to one of the students I read to. It's a cute picture book about a girl falling in love with the library!

Beatrice Doesn’t Want To by Laura Joffe Numeroff, Illustrated by Lynn Munsinger [*]- I forgot to include this is an earlier #IMWAYR post. I read this to one of the students I read to. It’s a cute picture book about a girl falling in love with the library!

Chickens Don’t Fly: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]

Chickens Don’t Fly: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]

Hippos Can’t Swim: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]

Hippos Can’t Swim: and other fun facts by Laura Lyn Disiena and Hannah Eliot, Illustrated by Pete Oswald [***]


Read my reviews for these two books here.

Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales [**]- A fun picture book about a confident boy pretending to be a wrestler but he may have met his match in the most unlikely place! Pura Belpré Award for Illustration 2014

Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales [**]- A fun picture book about a confident boy pretending to be a wrestler but he may have met his match in the most unlikely place! Pura Belpré Award for Illustration 2014

Knock Knock by Daniel Beaty, Illustrated by Bryan Collier [**]- A customer had actually recommended I watch the video of Daniel Beaty's poetry slam performance in which this picture book is based on. There were slight differences. I was wondering what the significance of the elephants in most of the illustrations were. Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award 2014

Knock Knock by Daniel Beaty, Illustrated by Bryan Collier [**]- A customer had actually recommended I watch the video of Daniel Beaty’s poetry slam performance in which this picture book is based on. There were slight differences. I was wondering what the significance of the elephants in most of the illustrations were. Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award 2014

Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes [**]- This is another picture book which I read to a student. It was rather long for my liking but I can see myself recommending this for people who like stories with strong vocabulary.

Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes [**]- This is another picture book which I read to a student. It was rather long for my liking but I can see myself recommending this for people who like stories with strong vocabulary.

The Hueys in... It Wasn't Me by Oliver Jeffers

The Hueys in… It Wasn’t Me by Oliver Jeffers


Read my review here.

The Man With the Violin by Kathy Stinson, Illustrated by Dusan Petricic [**]- This was a case of reading too many good reviews of it and being disappointed. It was good enough for me to watch some of the clips this event was based on.

The Man With the Violin by Kathy Stinson, Illustrated by Dusan Petricic [**]- This was a case of reading too many good reviews of it and being disappointed. It was good enough for me to watch some of the clips this event was based on.

A is for Activist by Innosanto Nagara [**]

A is for Activist by Innosanto Nagara [**]


I think this counts a non-fiction, right? My review on Wednesday, even though this is a board book.

Puddle Jumping: A Book About Bravery by Emma Quay, Anna Walker

Puddle Jumping: A Book About Bravery by Emma Quay, Anna Walker


Read my review here.

My Father's Arms Are A Boat by Stein Erik Lunde, Illustrated by Oyvind Torseter, Translated by Kari Dickson [**]- The paper craft illustrations are beautiful. The story is sweet and sad but for a very specific audience. It's not a book you can just grab from the shelf and start reading to a roomful of kids.

My Father’s Arms Are A Boat by Stein Erik Lunde, Illustrated by Oyvind Torseter, Translated by Kari Dickson [**]- The paper craft illustrations are beautiful. The story is sweet and sad but for a very specific audience. It’s not a book you can just grab from the shelf and start reading to a roomful of kids. Mildred L. Batchelder Honor 2014

Does a Bear Wear Boots? by Harriet Ziefert,Illustrated by Emily Bolam

Does a Bear Wear Boots? by Harriet Ziefert,Illustrated by Emily Bolam

Freedom Song by Sally M. Walker, Illustrated by Sean Qualls

Freedom Song by Sally M. Walker, Illustrated by Sean Qualls


My Pick of the Week

Henry's Freedom Box by Ellen Levine, Illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Henry’s Freedom Box by Ellen Levine, Illustrated by Kadir Nelson


Reviews on Wednesday.

Duck, Duck, Moose! by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, illustrated by Noah Z. Jones [**]- A simple but funny picture book about two very organized ducks and their accident-prone friend Moose.

Duck, Duck, Moose! by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, illustrated by Noah Z. Jones [**]- A simple but funny picture book about two very organized ducks and their accident-prone friend Moose. Not to be confused with the picture book by Dave Horowitz of the same name.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m still trying to finish Sonia Sotomayor’s My Beloved World for my Everybody Reads reading challenge. I’m also reading a YA novel which I’m kind of surprised that I’m actually enjoying enough to want to finish!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (80) #IMWAYR – February 2, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    February 2, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Wow-so many to love, Earl. I need to get Henry’s Freedom Box-sounds nice. Sorry you didn’t care for The Man With The Violin-I thought it filled a need for slowing down, especially for families. I also will look for Beatrice Doesn’t Want to-fun!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    February 2, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    Interesting to read your opinion for a few of these books! 🙂 Shall look forward to learning more about A is for Activist… This was a busy reading week for you!! Happy reading in the next week, enjoy that biography. I’m presently in the middle of: A Biography of Michael Morpurgo, War Child to War Horse by Maggie Fergusson, I’m absolutely enthralled… been a long while since I enjoyed a biography, not certain about the age range though…

     
  3. muellerk8

    February 3, 2014 at 3:35 am

    Great books on your list! I need to read Nino Wrestles the World, and I’m intrigued by My Father’s Arms are a Boat. I read Knock Knock, too, this week, but will feature it on my Wednesday Nonfiction post. Collier’s illustrations are always so amazing. The slam poetry performance is so powerful, it’s hard to capture it in a book, but as a stand alone picture book, it’s powerful too!

     
  4. Tara Smith

    February 3, 2014 at 5:35 am

    My goodness – what a lot of wonderful books you have been reading, Earl. Knock Knock and Chrysanthemum are two of my PB favorites, but many that you have reviewed are unfamiliar to me – thanks for sharing.

     
  5. Kathy Martin

    February 3, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Such a nice looking bunch of books. I’ll be adding a few to my next elementary book order. Come see my Monday Report here. Happy reading!

     
  6. leydylaura

    February 3, 2014 at 10:06 am

    You had an amazing read. I hope you enjoy your books this week!

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

     
  7. Doris Elysia

    February 3, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Happy Monday, hope you’re enjoying all your reads.

    Here’s our IMWAYR
    Doris @ OABR

     
  8. Myra GB

    February 3, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    I own a copy of Kadir Nelson’s Freedom Box, isn’t it just gorgeous. I had my 12 year old daughter read it when they had a unit on MLK and Malcolm X for her Geography class a few months ago, just for her to have a more personal feel of what life was like during this period. Kadir Nelson’s artwork is simply amazing. Sounds like My Father’s Arms are a Boat would be my kind of read. Unfortunately, we don’t have it here yet in our libraries. Boo. 🙂 Have a great reading week, Earl.

     

Leave a Reply

 
