RSS

What Are You Reading? (81) #IMWAYR – February 9, 2014

09 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This was a great reading week! I read all kinds of books and finished a couple that were taking longer than necessary. Good thing for snow days!

I got some new followers on Facebook! Happy times!

Oh, I’m a World Book Night Giver! I’ll be visiting different Little Free Libraries and giving away copies of Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin!

I also shared the following video there- a surprisingly touching video about the magic of reading!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week

When I was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds [***]- A story about family and friends, that no matter how broken they seem, you do what you have to for them. Delivers a powerful punch. Unique characters including an African-American teen who knits to control his Tourette’s. Glimpses of urban life. A thoroughly fascinating YA novel.

When I was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds [***]- A story about family and friends, that no matter how broken they seem, you do what you have to for them. Delivers a powerful punch. Unique characters including an African-American teen who knits to control his Tourette’s. Glimpses of urban life. A thoroughly fascinating YA novel.

When Elephant Met Giraffe by Paul Gude [*]- This would be perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie series- and there will be tons of comparisons between them. I would say readers should give this a try, at least.

When Elephant Met Giraffe by Paul Gude [*]- This would be perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie series- and there will be tons of comparisons between them. I would say readers should give this a try, at least.

Manfish by Jennifer Berne, Illustrated by Éric Puybaret [***]

Manfish by Jennifer Berne, Illustrated by Éric Puybaret [***]


Read my review here.

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor [***]- [Everybody Reads Reading Challenge] [#MustReadin2014]

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor [***]- [Everybody Reads Reading Challenge] [#MustReadin2014]


My Beloved World offers snapshots of Sonia Sotomayor’s life from childhood to her becoming a federal judge. Hers is a story populated by people who shaped who she was, especially by the strong women in her life- her mother and grandmother. She is candid and honest which makes for a refreshing read. She stresses the importance of education and willingness to ask for help. She acknowledges that her go-getter attitude is not something everyone’s born with but can be implemented in their own lives. She also mentions luck playing a role but she was definitely prepared for when opportunities presented themselves to her!

Another theme is cultural identity. “I needed a history in which I could anchor my own sense of self.” I admire her being proud of her heritage but not letting it define herself, not letting one thing be the label she’s stuck with since not one of us is just one thing one hundred percent of the time. She helped those like her but made sure to include everyone. And, the fact that she and her peers were basically paving the way for future generations to be able to have the same opportunities in life, it was interesting to see one way of how their experiences are passed on.

“We are all limited, highly imperfect beings, worthy in some dimensions, deficient in others, and if we would understand how any of our connections survive, we would do well to look first to what is good in each of us.”

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee [***- My Pick of the Week]- I don't think I've seen this reviewed a lot yet on other #IMWAYR blogs but I'm sure that will change soon. This is a book I will defintiely be recommending like crazy to our customers. It's the perfect time for it, too, with the popularity of the Disney movie "Frozen" and a nice book to pair with Anne Ursu's Breadcrumbs. This is a story of a very scientifically minded girl who meets  magical boy. This is also a story about loss and bravery and magic. Read it!

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee [***- My Pick of the Week]- I don’t think I’ve seen this reviewed a lot yet on other #IMWAYR blogs but I’m sure that will change soon. This is a book I will defintiely be recommending like crazy to our customers. It’s the perfect time for it, too, with the popularity of the Disney movie “Frozen” and a nice book to pair with Anne Ursu’s Breadcrumbs. This is a story of a very scientifically minded girl who meets magical boy. This is also a story about loss and bravery and magic. Read it!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I should start on another Agatha Christie novel and more nonfiction picture books. Hopefully I’ll finish E.B. White’s Stuart Little, which is delightful so far, and Evan Roskos’ Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets, which I’m also enjoying!

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading? (81) #IMWAYR – February 9, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    February 9, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    I did review Ophelia just a couple of weeks ago, & I loved it too, Earl. What a sweet book, & it did remind me of Anne Ursu’s books, too. I’m happy to hear your opinion about Sonia Sotomayor’s book-I heard an interview with her about it & it sounded good. And-thanks for the video-really special!

     
  2. carriegelson

    February 9, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    I really want to read Ophelia! Need to get my hands on this title. I loved that video you shared – for its literacy message. So powerful.

     
  3. Karen Yingling

    February 10, 2014 at 3:59 am

    I figured that Ophelia would be one that would get a lot of love, but it wasn’t my favorite. I get so weary of fantasy books, especially since so many of my students REALLY don’t want to read them.

     
  4. Kathy Martin

    February 10, 2014 at 6:01 am

    You certainly read an interesting variety of books. Come see my Monday Report if you get a chance. Happy reading!

     
  5. The Styling Librarian

    February 10, 2014 at 7:11 am

    Enjoy EB White, curious to read Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy… sometime soon. 🙂 Thanks for sharing When Elephant Met Giraffe, noticed that one star though… Happy reading to you…

     
  6. Megan

    February 10, 2014 at 7:19 am

    The cover for When I Was the Greatest is certainly eye-catching. I have to check to see if it already on my TBR list, if not, I will be adding it today! Have a great week!~Megan
    http://wp.me/zUn5

     
  7. Tara Smith

    February 10, 2014 at 8:42 am

    I’ve heard so many great things about Ophelia, Earl – time to order the book!

     
  8. Sheila (Book Journey)

    February 10, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    When I was The Greatest looks really interesting!

     
  9. leydylaura

    February 10, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    Wow these sound interesting! Hope you enjoy them!

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

     
  10. Myra GB

    February 10, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    Awww. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy sounds exactly like my kind of read. Sounds beautiful, Earl. I also watched the video clip you shared, I’ve seen it on FB but never really watched it. Hearfelt and touching. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: