RSS

What Are You Reading? (82) #IMWAYR – February 16, 2014

16 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #6
Celebrate This Week

The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock, Illustrated by Mary GrandPré  [***]

The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock, Illustrated by Mary GrandPré [***]

Weeds Find a Way by Cindy Jenson-Elliott, Illustrated by Carolyn Fisher [**]

Weeds Find a Way by Cindy Jenson-Elliott, Illustrated by Carolyn Fisher [**]


Read my reviews of these two books here.

Looking at Lincoln by Maira Kalman [***]

Looking at Lincoln by Maira Kalman [***]

Thomas Jefferson: Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Everything by Maira Kalman [***]

Thomas Jefferson: Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Everything by Maira Kalman [***]


Expect reviews for these nonfiction picture books this Wednesday!

The Night Riders by Matt Furie [*]- A quirky wordless picture book from McSweeney’s McMullens takes readers into a nocturnal journey full of surprises and friendly encounters.

The Night Riders by Matt Furie [*]- A quirky wordless picture book from McSweeney’s McMullens takes readers into a nocturnal journey full of surprises and friendly encounters.

Henny by Elizabeth Rose Stanton [***]- At first I was hesitant to read this but everyone who's read it just seemed to love it. And, rightly so. Very enjoyable and off-beat.

Henny by Elizabeth Rose Stanton [***]- At first I was hesitant to read this but everyone who’s read it just seemed to love it. And, rightly so. Very enjoyable and off-beat.

Dr. Bird's Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos [****- My Pick of the Week]- William C. Morris finalist for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens. Reminds me of The Perks of Being a Wallflower (which I really enjoyed) and An Abundance of Katherines (which I thought was OK.) The writing seems effortless, straightforward and brilliant at the same time. The characters and their experiences are refreshing and unique. It's quite difficult to say exactly what else I liked about the book but I definitely recommend it.

Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos [****- My Pick of the Week]- William C. Morris finalist for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens.
Reminds me of The Perks of Being a Wallflower (which I really enjoyed) and An Abundance of Katherines (which I thought was OK.)
The writing seems effortless, straightforward and brilliant at the same time. The characters and their experiences are refreshing and unique. It’s quite difficult to say exactly what else I liked about the book but I definitely recommend it.

Stuart Little by E.B. White [****]- Delightful and charming. The humor seemed quirky to me but in a good way, not in a forced or false way. I just love how Stuart Little is just the way he is and the world accepts the fact of his existence without question. It's a fun ride to be on and the writing style, the sentence structures, takes unexpected turns wen you least expect it. I loved it. I wanted more. I can understand E.B. White's to end the story where he did and why he decided there wouldn't be a sequel but there was no sense of closure- or even a strong sense of character growth for the readers to even guess at what might happen next! [E.B. White Reading Challenge]

Stuart Little by E.B. White [****]- Delightful and charming. The humor seemed quirky to me but in a good way, not in a forced or false way. I just love how Stuart Little is just the way he is and the world accepts the fact of his existence without question. It’s a fun ride to be on and the writing style, the sentence structures, takes unexpected turns wen you least expect it. I loved it. I wanted more. I can understand E.B. White’s to end the story where he did and why he decided there wouldn’t be a sequel but there was no sense of closure- or even a strong sense of character growth for the readers to even guess at what might happen next! [E.B. White Reading Challenge]

Hi, Koo! by Jon J. Muth [***]- Jon J. Muth’s takes readers into alphabetical journey through the seasons using haikus featuring a playful pondering panda bear named Koo! Expected release date is February 25th.

Hi, Koo! by Jon J. Muth [***]- Jon J. Muth’s takes readers into alphabetical journey through the seasons using haikus featuring a playful pondering panda bear named Koo! Expected release date is February 25th.

Bluebird by Lindsey Yankey [***]- A little bluebird searches for her missing friend, the Wind. Warm colors and patchwork images complement this cute story about discovering one’s ability.

Bluebird by Lindsey Yankey [***]- A little bluebird searches for her missing friend, the Wind. Warm colors and patchwork images complement this cute story about discovering one’s ability.

Timmy Failure: Now Look What You've Done by Stephan Pastis [***]- In this equally hilarious follow-up to Mistakes Were Made, Timmy Failure continues to prove to the world he’s the greatest detective in the world. For some reason, I was expecting this installment to go a little deeper into his psyche and his relationships and I was surprised it didn’t. But since there wasn’t any indication it was going to, I wouldn’t hold it against it. The third book, We Meet Again, comes out October 28, 2014.

Timmy Failure: Now Look What You’ve Done by Stephan Pastis [***]- In this equally hilarious follow-up to Mistakes Were Made, Timmy Failure continues to prove to the world he’s the greatest detective in the world. For some reason, I was expecting this installment to go a little deeper into his psyche and his relationships and I was surprised it didn’t. But since there wasn’t any indication it was going to, I wouldn’t hold it against it. The third book, We Meet Again, comes out October 28, 2014.

Penguin in Peril by Helen Hancocks [***]- An absolutely silly and delightful book about a trio of hungry cats who decide to steal a penguin to help them with their plan of capturing fish! One of those picture books with different cover art under the dust jacket!

Penguin in Peril by Helen Hancocks [***]- An absolutely silly and delightful book about a trio of hungry cats who decide to steal a penguin to help them with their plan of capturing fish! One of those picture books with different cover art under the dust jacket!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish Parnell Hall’s NYPD Puzzle. Plus, I’ll be reading some books by authors who’ll be coming to our store soon!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (82) #IMWAYR – February 16, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    February 16, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    Wow, so many books that look good here, Earl. I have the first two from the library-they do look good! And thanks for the debut book share! I’ll add it to my list-am glad to have your recommendation!

     
  2. Tara Smith

    February 17, 2014 at 4:52 am

    So glad to see Maira Kalman here, Earl – LOVE her work!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    February 17, 2014 at 5:19 am

    So many *** books this week! 🙂 I added Dr. Bird’s book to my TBR, thanks… You shared so many new books too… Can’t wait to read Hi, Koo! That’s one I’m quite excited about… Happy reading week to you!

     
  4. Tea Time with Marce

    February 17, 2014 at 8:39 am

    My daughter may enjoy Weeds Find the Way, will look for it.

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    February 17, 2014 at 10:57 am

    It looks like you had a really good week, filled with great books! I just added Dr. Bird’s book to my TBR list as well, so thank you for the review!

     
  6. leydylaura

    February 17, 2014 at 11:10 am

    i havent heard of any of these but i hope you enjoy them!

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

     
  7. Myra GB

    February 17, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    So many great titles here, Earl. I will be reading Dr. Bird’s Advice next in time for our upcoming bimonthly theme. I’ve read a lot of good reviews, including yours. I haven’t read any of E.B. White’s classic novels yet. Hopefully, this year? 🙂 I also added the Noisy Paintbox to my growing list of PBBs. 🙂 Have a great reading week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
