RSS

Celebrate This Week- March 1, 2014

01 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week, I celebrate books!

Books are my constant companions, my favorite pastime, my plans A and B, my entertainment, my source of information, and my saving grace.

This was a particularly good reading week as I added 2 titles to my most favorite favorites!

The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White, Illustrated by Fred Marcellino

The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White, Illustrated by Fred Marcellino


The first book is E.B. White’s The Trumpet of the Swan. I have only read Charlotte’s Web and, this year, I decided to read his other children’s books. He has since become one of my favorite writers as well! I can’t wait to read his letters and essays! You can read my book reviews here.

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin


Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin is my 40th favorite book! I had picked this for my World Book Night giveaway this year.

It was a bit risky to ask to give a book out I hadn’t read before but I knew I was going to at least like it a little bit from the chapters I previewed online. I just didn’t realize how much I would love it- the characters, the writing, the format. Originally written as as serial in a San Francisco newspaper, the chapters are short and makes you want to read what happens next. Each one is like getting a piece of puzzle and it’s wonderful when they start to fit together. The fact I grew up in San Francisco added another level of enjoyment. I can’t wait to give out this book for World Book Night!

What are your favorite books?

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- March 1, 2014

  1. Tara Smith

    March 1, 2014 at 9:02 am

    Hooray for books indeed – the two you shared are personal favorites, too Earl – great choices!

     
  2. Crystal

    March 1, 2014 at 9:15 am

    I am glad to hear about Tales of the City. I love San Francisco so I am going to add it to my ever growing, ridiculously long list of books to be read. 🙂

     
  3. Linda Baie

    March 1, 2014 at 9:21 am

    Thanks for Tales of The City, Earl. It sounds really interesting. If you love E.B. White, look for The Story of Charlotte’s Web by Michael Sims. I found it delightful, have shared it and shared it! Have a good rest of the weekend!

     
  4. Jaana

    March 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I will remember your idea of celebrating books! Tales of the City sounds fantastic. I might have to check it out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
