RSS

What Are You Reading? (84) #IMWAYR – March 2, 2014

02 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

It’s funny how some days, you struggle to find something to blog about. Then, other times, there seems to be something you want to share and post about on a daily basis. This week, was one of the latter. I hope you take a look at some previous posts:

Reading Challenge: E.B. White
New Releases: February 25, 2014
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Inside Wildwood (Exhibit)
Reading Resolutions: February Update
Celebrate This Week

sseuss
For Dr. Seuss’ birthday at the bookstore, kids celebrated by making Thing 1 and Thing 2 wigs!

The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White, Illustrated by Fred Marcellino [*****- My Pick of the Week]

The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White, Illustrated by Fred Marcellino [*****- My Pick of the Week]


This has made my list of my most favorite books ever! Read my review here.

Rosie & Rex: A Nose for Fun! by Bob Boyle [**]- Mo Willems definitely set the bar high for unlikely friendships because it's hard not to compare Rosie and Rex to Elephant and Piggie. This wacky duo has a hard time agreeing on what to do for fun- play with robots or play tea time. They find a mysterious object that lets their imagination run wild guessing what it can be. The answer surprises them and solves both their problems. Cute!

Rosie & Rex: A Nose for Fun! by Bob Boyle [**]- Mo Willems definitely set the bar high for unlikely friendships because it’s hard not to compare Rosie and Rex to Elephant and Piggie. This wacky duo has a hard time agreeing on what to do for fun- play with robots or play tea time. They find a mysterious object that lets their imagination run wild guessing what it can be. The answer surprises them and solves both their problems. Cute!

Weasels by Elys Dolan [***]- Hilarious! Immediately reminded me of Pinky and the Brain! But, the adventures and misadventures of these super caffeinated, machine-tinkering weasels are completely original and guaranteed to make the readers laugh!

Weasels by Elys Dolan [***]- Hilarious! Immediately reminded me of Pinky and the Brain! But, the adventures and misadventures of these super caffeinated, machine-tinkering weasels are completely original and guaranteed to make the readers laugh!

Good Dog, Carl by Alexandra Day [***]- I finally read this almost-wordless picture book. I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't a tale of a goody-two-shoes. I can see the appeal!

Good Dog, Carl by Alexandra Day [***]- I finally read this almost-wordless picture book. I was pleasantly surprised it wasn’t a tale of a goody-two-shoes. I can see the appeal!

Noah Webster and His Words by Jeri Chase Ferris, Illustrated by Vincent X. Kirsch [***]

Noah Webster and His Words by Jeri Chase Ferris, Illustrated by Vincent X. Kirsch [***]

Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth, Illustrated by Cindy Trumbore [***]

Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth, Illustrated by Cindy Trumbore [***]


Expect reviews for these nonfiction picture books this Wednesday!

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin [*****- My Pick of the Week]

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin [*****- My Pick of the Week]


This has made my list of my most favorite books ever! Read my review here.


The BabyLit board book series expands to its very first picture book format with Edgar Gets Ready for Bed, a take on Edgar Allan Poe’s famous poem, “The Raven.” The illustrations give sly winks to his other works. Huckleberry Finn is a camping primer. The Jungle Book is an animals primer. Both include quotes from the books now and are by the same artist but I liked the latter’s illustrations better.

The Composer Is Dead by Lemony Snicket, Illustrations by Carson Ellis, with Music by Nathaniel Stookey [***]- This was a surprisingly enjoyable book. Lots of humor and musical information. This is a great way to get kids interested in learning about the different orchestral instruments. Reminded me of Fantasia!

The Composer Is Dead by Lemony Snicket, Illustrations by Carson Ellis, with Music by Nathaniel Stookey [***]- This was a surprisingly enjoyable book. Lots of humor and musical information. This is a great way to get kids interested in learning about the different orchestral instruments. Reminded me of Fantasia!

Hiding Phil by Eric Barclay [**]- Surprisingly silly picture book about siblings actually working together to hide an elephant from their parents. Fans of Mo Willems will enjoy this.

Hiding Phil by Eric Barclay [**]- Surprisingly silly picture book about siblings actually working together to hide an elephant from their parents. Fans of Mo Willems will enjoy this.

Let There Be Light by Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Illustrated by Nancy Tillman [**]- A gorgeous rendition of the Creation story.

Let There Be Light by Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Illustrated by Nancy Tillman [**]- A gorgeous rendition of the Creation story.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie and A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd. I’ll try and read all of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit tales.

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? (84) #IMWAYR – March 2, 2014

  1. Julee Murphy

    March 2, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    I used to love reading the Good Dog Carl books to my kids when they were little. They are such sweet stories but it also struck me as odd that Carl was left to mind the baby by himself while mother went out to run errands.

     
  2. islandkylie

    March 2, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    How awesome is that Parrots over Puerto Rico artwork! My kids and I are listening to Lemony Snickett’s Series of Unfortunate Events in the car and loving it. You can check out my week here http://kyliesreads.blogspot.com.au/2014/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    March 3, 2014 at 3:28 am

    🙂 Glad you visited with The Composer is Dead. Love the created hair. I adore The Trumpet of the Swan. I just wrote about it for an upcoming NerdyBookClub post. Happy reading week to you…

     
  4. Linda Baie

    March 3, 2014 at 5:52 am

    The Trumpet of the Swan is a beautiful story, I agree, Earl. You shared so many good ones today. I chuckled at Edgar Gets Ready for Bed-Poe for the little ones! And I am really intrigued by Tales of The City, and noted Weasels and the Noah Webster. Thanks for all!

     
  5. Myra GB

    March 4, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    I have yet to read Lemony Snicket’s book – I’ve been seeing it around though. A friend of mine who lives in San Francisco loaned me her entire set of Tales of the City. It was only in Book 3 when it kind of picked up for me, haven’t read the entire series yet though. Still halfway through the third book and that was three years ago. I hope I can return to it soon. Noah Webster and his words also caught my eye. Nancy Tillman makes the most exquisite illustrations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
