RSS

Celebrate This Week- March 15, 2014

15 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Tuesday.

Tuesdays are reserved for my volunteering. Normally, I’d go to the library and pull people’s requests off the shelves. Then, I‘d go over to an elementary school to read to a couple of kids for SMART. I’ll have some time before the next commitment where I can catch up on Friends of the Library stuff. After that, I’d volunteer with the Children’s Book Bank to help get books into the hands of kids from low-income families. Unless there’s a meeting afterwards, that’s my typical Tuesday.

This past Tuesday, though, I had an opportunity to attend a special event with Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, whose memoir My Beloved World was this year’s Multnomah County Library’s Everybody Reads selection.

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

In my review of the book, I had written, “Hers is a story populated by people who shaped who she was, especially by the strong women in her life- her mother and grandmother. She is candid and honest which makes for a refreshing read. She stresses the importance of education and willingness to ask for help. She acknowledges that her go-getter attitude is not something everyone’s born with but can be implemented in their own lives. She also mentions luck playing a role but she was definitely prepared for when opportunities presented themselves to her!”

When she took to the stage in front of a sold-out audience (while being simulcasted at another sold-out venue), I was impressed by her presence. She exuded power without it creating a barrier between her and us. She seemed approachable.

Immediately she touched upon two matters that I believe to be absolutely true.

Words are powerful.
You don’t make it in this world on your own.

Her knowledge was vast, made the more impressive by her continuous confession of not knowing everything but willing to learn and grow. I also appreciated how thoughtful she was with everything she said. She would consider her words, sometimes editing herself, before replying. She advised to seek out people who are doing things you want to be doing but aren’t and to not let fear hold you back in life.

Despite all the wisdom she was imparting, the talk wasn’t completely serious. In fact, she was quite funny. During the Q&A, she asked the person to yell “Yo!” at her from wherever they were so she can see who was asking the question. She also joked about her talking too much.

What left the biggest impact on me was how genuinely, sincerely, and appreciatively blessed she knew she was, that we all are. If that isn’t a cause for celebration, I don’t know what is!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

4 responses to “Celebrate This Week- March 15, 2014

  1. Crystal

    March 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Thanks for sharing this experience. I haven’t yet read her book, but now I am going to put it on my list. I have read several children’s biographies about her and have admired her spirit and seeing her journey has been inspiring.

     
  2. carriegelson

    March 15, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    A wonderful day Earl but I also loved finding out about what you usually do on Tuesdays. It sounds like you have a very rich volunteering experience each week. So awesome.

     
  3. Holly M @muellerholly

    March 15, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    Like Carrie, I loved finding out what you do on Tuesdays – what a rich service life you lead. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor sounds like an inspiration!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    March 15, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    It’s a beautifully written post about Justice Sotomayor. I heard her being interviewed on NPR & enjoyed the interview thoroughly. Her book is on my growing list, but you made it just move up a bit!

     

Leave a Reply

 
