RSS

What Are You Reading? (86) #IMWAYR – March 16, 2014

16 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Me and a fellow board member holding a giant library card during the Sonia Sotomayor event.

Me and a fellow board member holding a giant library card during the Sonia Sotomayor event.

If you read my Celebrate This Week post, you would know I had a rather nice bookish evening. Another thing that made it awesome was I got to go to another library (which I added to my list!)

The Heathman Library

A shelf from the Heathman Hotel Library

The Heathman Hotel “was recognized… as the only independent hotel in the country to offer a lending library of its scope, and it is one of the largest autographed libraries in the world!” I really need to go back there during their library social!

I also spent a very unusual spring-like afternoon this past Thursday writing outdoors. Nice weather can be so inspiring, especially when you can enjoy the beauty of nature.

This week, I posted the following:

New Releases: March 11, 2014
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week: This week, I celebrated Tuesday- and Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor.
Review: A Snicker of Magic: One of my 41 most favorite favorites!

Sarah Says Goodnight by Fran Lee [*]- Cute story reminiscent of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late.

Sarah Says Goodnight by Fran Lee [*]- Cute story reminiscent of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late.

The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie [***]- Review to come later this month.

The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie [***]- Review to come later this month.

Extreme Opposites by Max Dalton [**]- Not your typical concept book. The humor in this is more suited for the adult reading the book than the child. Quirky illustrations.

Extreme Opposites by Max Dalton [**]- Not your typical concept book. The humor in this is more suited for the adult reading the book than the child. Quirky illustrations.

Duck, Death and the Tulip by Wolf Erlbruch [**]- The illustrations caught my eye of this picture book tackling a big topic. Duck and Death befriend one another and they learn that all good things come to an end. Surprisingly sweet.

Duck, Death and the Tulip by Wolf Erlbruch [**]- The illustrations caught my eye of this picture book tackling a big topic. Duck and Death befriend one another and they learn that all good things come to an end. Surprisingly sweet.

Star Jumper by Frannk Asch [***]- This is one of our bestselling books at our store. I've recommended it plenty of times but, after having read it through, I feel I can do an even better job. Very creative including the illustrations of all the materials Alex uses to make his creations. Good for readers who like space and/or Legos.

Star Jumper by Frannk Asch [***]- This is one of our bestselling books at our store. I’ve recommended it plenty of times but, after having read it through, I feel I can do an even better job. Very creative including the illustrations of all the materials Alex uses to make his creations. Good for readers who like space and/or Legos.

Care for Our World by Karen Robbins, Illustrated by Alexandra Ball [*]- Expect a review during my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post on Wednesday.

Care for Our World by Karen Robbins, Illustrated by Alexandra Ball [*]- Expect a review during my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post on Wednesday.

A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd [*****- My Pick of the Week]

A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd [*****- My Pick of the Week]


Click here for my review.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Hopefully I can finish Harriet the Spy and start on some Peter Rabbit tales.

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading? (86) #IMWAYR – March 16, 2014

  1. Julee Murphy

    March 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I finished A Snicker of Magic this week too. What a charming story and such likable characters. Hey, I love your giant library card. It is giving me an idea.

     
  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    March 17, 2014 at 4:35 am

    Sounds like a great week for you, hope this one is to!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    March 17, 2014 at 6:21 am

    Wow, Earl, I took nearly all your books & put them on my list! We have the Schlastic book fair at my school this week, so hoping to pick up A Snicker of Magic there, but any other good picture books to help the school. I enjoyed your review of Star Jumper. evidently there are two others, Gravity Buster & Time Twister-they would be so good for our project-oriented school. Thanks for so much this week!

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    March 17, 2014 at 8:23 am

    🙂 So glad you enjoyed A Snicker of Magic! Just special book. I loved Star Jumper and Sparky! Fantastic… hope you have a wonderful reading week….

     
  5. leydylaura

    March 17, 2014 at 9:30 am

    That is cool, I had the same thing when Ally Carter was here. Happy reading

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Also check out our Kindle Giveaway along with OUAT 4 year Giveaway.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

     
  6. Kimberly (@TurninThePages)

    March 17, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve heard a great deal of good things about A Snicker of Magic 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it. I hope you like your current reads.
    Here’s myIt’s Monday Post

    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

     
  7. Crystal

    March 17, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    I have heard so many good things about A Snicker of Magic. I need to get out there and buy it soon.

     
  8. Georgette Nairn

    March 17, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    A Snicker of Magic made an appearance on several blogs this week including yours. I really need to check it out! I am also now interested in Duck, Death and the Tulip, I have seen the cover picture before but didn’t realize it was a real book until today. Thanks for your reviews.

     
  9. Myra GB

    March 18, 2014 at 2:08 am

    We still don’t have Snicker of Magic in our public libraries, but perhaps we already have it in Kinokuniya, our local bookstore that’s kind of like Borders/Barnes and Noble put together, but way better. Will check it out. You also have a lot of interesting multicultural titles here that I think I could also use in my classroom: At the Same Time around the world in particular caught my eye.

     
  10. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Everyone keeps sharing about A SNICKER OF MAGIC. I really need to read it. Your post inspired me to get off my bum and find my copy in my stacks of books, so thank you! I always appreciate all of these books you share with us.

     

Leave a Reply

 
