RSS

Celebrate This Week- March 22, 2014

22 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Last night, I threw a dinner party for friends. I don’t really know how to cook but I like to challenge myself from time to time. And I usually tend to make Filipino dishes to introduce them to new food. This time, I made “lumpiang sariwa” (fresh spring rolls) and, for dessert, chocolate brownies with caramel centers. I know the latter isn’t Filipino but my other friends make their own caramels and I wanted to share them.

I celebrate everyone who came and enjoyed themselves. There’s nothing I like more than seeing people have a good time. Sometimes our lives get too busy to see our friends as often as we would like so a party is a good reason to catch up.

I’m also celebrating having a great reading week. Somehow I ended up reading a lot and lots of variety- and not all of them good. Here are some of the books I read this week:

Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh [***]

Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh [***]


I loved/hated it. The characters were unique and unforgettable. The writing had me turning pages. But like another classic- E.B. White’s Stuart Little– it felt unresolved. I didn’t see any growth in Harriet. She is rude and obnoxious, which I guess is realistic, but her observations don’t equate to truth. Towards the end, I was expecting a breakdown in the style of Stephen King’s Carrie.

Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann, Illustrated by Kerascoët [**]

Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann, Illustrated by Kerascoët [**]


Appearances can be deceiving in this beautifully illustrated graphic novel billed as an anti fairy tale. I don’t have any problems with dark content. In fact, I enjoy having strong reactions to what I’m reading. I definitely gasped in some parts of this story. But sometimes trying to make something old into something new doesn’t make it original. I was disappointed by how some of the stories were introduced and had no follow-up or resolutions. They could have used those pages to make the main storylines stronger. I did end up wanting to read The Lord of the Flies after finishing this book.


These two wordless picture books (part of the Stories Without Words series) tell the stories of a pig-populated island and what happens there during a heat wave a volcanic eruption.

For more book reviews, join the It’s Monday! What are You Reading? #IMWAYR community!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- March 22, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    March 22, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Your party sounds fun, Earl, & glad to know your take on the books. It’s been a very long time since I’ve read Harriet the Spy, so I don’t know if I’d still enjoy it or not. The other book really doesn’t interest me much. You said you weren’t a cook, but the food sounds good to me. I’ve never made spring rolls-easy or hard? Have a great rest of the weekend.

     
  2. Elisabeth Ellington

    March 22, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    I was so shocked when I reread Harriet the Spy a couple of years ago–Harriet is so horrible, and the whole story seemed subversive to me. The book was nothing like I remembered from my childhood reading of it. Your meal does sound delicious. I am currently obsessed with these Ghirardelli dark chocolates with sea salt and caramels, so those brownies sound especially good!

     
  3. carriegelson

    March 23, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I love the wordless books Ice and The Giant Seed and have both in my collection! Sounds like we would all like to come for dessert! Sounds like a wonderful dinner party.

     

Leave a Reply

 
