RSS

What Are You Reading? (87) #IMWAYR – March 23, 2014

23 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This was a good reading week. I ended up reading a lot- and a lot of variety.

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday: Check this post for review of

Care for Our World by Karen Robbins, Illustrated by Alexandra Ball [*]

Care for Our World by Karen Robbins, Illustrated by Alexandra Ball [*]


Reading Challenge: Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit– Check this post for reviews of

Celebrate This Week: This week, I celebrate friends, food, and books! Check this post for reviews of

Presto Change-O! by Édouard Manceau [**]- A cute large-format board book with movable pieces that transform everyday objects into animals. A cauldron transforms in a raccoon, for example. Naturally, the pieces will tear after a few reads in the hands of excited young readers.

Presto Change-O! by Édouard Manceau [**]- A cute large-format board book with movable pieces that transform everyday objects into animals. A cauldron transforms in a raccoon, for example. Naturally, the pieces will tear after a few reads in the hands of excited young readers.


Expect reviews of these two books during the Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post.

Coyote Run by Gaetan Doremus [**]- A fun take on the Spaghetti Western, part of the Story Without Words series.

Coyote Run by Gaetan Doremus [**]- A fun take on the Spaghetti Western, part of the Story Without Words series.

Letter Lunch by Eliza Gutierrez- Wordless but full of letters! This picture book finds two kids in search of letters for a midday meal. This would be good for letter recognition.

Letter Lunch by Eliza Gutierrez- Wordless but full of letters! This picture book finds two kids in search of letters for a midday meal. This would be good for letter recognition.

The River by Alessandro Sanna [***]- Beautiful almost wordless graphic novel. Each season introduces a new story along the river. Can be for kids but the appeal is for any age that appreciates art!

The River by Alessandro Sanna [***]- Beautiful almost wordless graphic novel. Each season introduces a new story along the river. Can be for kids but the appeal is for any age that appreciates art!

The Chicken Thief by Béatrice Rodriguez [**]- Part of the Story Without Words series, this is the first book in a trilogy about a chicken and a fox. This is a great introduction to the characters and will definitely have readers wanting more!

The Chicken Thief by Béatrice Rodriguez [**]- Part of the Story Without Words series, this is the first book in a trilogy about a chicken and a fox. This is a great introduction to the characters and will definitely have readers wanting more!

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin [****- My Pick of the Week]- I'm very partial to books about books. This adult book is about a recently widowed bookseller who finds a baby abandoned in the store. It's also a story about starting over. A touching love letter to the bookselling profession. I can't wait to start recommending this to our customers!

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin [****- My Pick of the Week]- I’m very partial to books about books. This adult book is about a recently widowed bookseller who finds a baby abandoned in the store. It’s also a story about starting over. A touching love letter to the bookselling profession. I can’t wait to start recommending this to our customers!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I picked up The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and hopefully I’ll actually read through it this time and learn some things from it!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? (87) #IMWAYR – March 23, 2014

  1. eloisej

    March 23, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    I always lived Beatrice Potter’s books as a child. I can’t wait till I have kids do I can introduce them to her books. 🙂

     
  2. Michele

    March 24, 2014 at 5:38 am

    Have you noticed there have been an abundance of bird books released this year? Someone in the bird community wants kids to learn more 🙂
    I put Letter Lunch on hold at the library. That looks like a good one for some of my younger readers!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    March 24, 2014 at 6:49 am

    I have ‘the storied life’ from NetGalley, wishing I could get to it soon. It sounds wonderful. I love those nest books, and thanks for The River and the Geisert books, Earl, all new titles to me. Have another great reading week!

     
  4. Erin @ Quixotic Magpie

    March 24, 2014 at 8:52 am

    Harriet the Spy!!! Harriet was my favorite book when I was a kid. 🙂

     
  5. Georgette

    March 24, 2014 at 11:48 am

    I just saw another review of The River and now I really want to read it! Is it anything like Flood? thanks for sharing the two non-fiction picture books about nesting birds, I will see if I can find them at my local library.

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    Ah! You started the Beatrix Potter challenge you mentioned last week. Good for you! I am interested in Letter Lunch. That seems like a great book to start teaching my son letters, so thank you!

     
  7. Myra GB

    March 25, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    Hi there Earl. Like you, I just love books about books. I think I have a few adult books that deal with this theme, but haven’t started reading them yet. The Storied Life of AJ Fikry sounds like something I should add to my collection. I’ve also bought a few Beatrix Potter tiny picturebooks on sale a few months ago, and can’t wait to read those soon. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
