RSS

What Are You Reading? (88) #IMWAYR – March 30, 2014

30 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

In all the hustle and bustle I mentioned during my Celebrate This Week post, I overlooked the fact, I ended up visiting a new bookstore- Anthology Booksellers.

anth1

I love bookstores as much as I love libraries. I normally don’t buy anything but the owner was quite nice and I found a copy of E.B. White’s Essays.
anth2

It was a good reminder to myself that I should be nice to all customers- even if they say they’re just browsing. Funnily enough, someone had written a Yelp review of our store. She gave it 4 stars but wrote I was “snarky.”

My friend took me to see a wonderful production of “Hamlet.” It was interesting how they modernized it to make it accessible to audience. I haven’t read any of Shakespeare’s plays before but I may just start soon since his 450th birthday celebration is apparently next month’s!

I also bought my tickets to see my family and friends in Las Vegas so I’m excited about that. My birthday season is underway!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week

The Mitten by Jan Brett [**]- Apparently, there's a quilted version of The Mitten. Some of the panels were missing so I picked up an actual book copy. Cute story. I can see why this is so popular with kids. The border illustrations- and their intricacies- are truly something!

The Mitten by Jan Brett [**]- Apparently, there’s a quilted version of The Mitten. Some of the panels were missing so I picked up an actual book copy. Cute story. I can see why this is so popular with kids. The border illustrations- and their intricacies- are truly something!

Stellaluna by Janell Cannon [**]- Stellaluna is another one of those beloved picture books I hadn't read until now. It's a sweet story of a baby bay separated from its mother who finds a new home with a family of birds. Lessons of starting over, learning to accept one's differences, and the multiple configurations of what makes up a family can be learned here.

Stellaluna by Janell Cannon [**]- Stellaluna is another one of those beloved picture books I hadn’t read until now. It’s a sweet story of a baby bay separated from its mother who finds a new home with a family of birds. Lessons of starting over, learning to accept one’s differences, and the multiple configurations of what makes up a family can be learned here.

Lost for Words by Natalie Russell [**]- This picture book tackles all kinds of creativity. Tapir has writer's block and is frustrated and inspired by how easy his friends find ways to express themselves through poetry and dance. Will he find what he's good at?

Lost for Words by Natalie Russell [**]- This picture book tackles all kinds of creativity. Tapir has writer’s block and is frustrated and inspired by how easy his friends find ways to express themselves through poetry and dance. Will he find what he’s good at?

I just read my first book in Italian! OK, only the title was Italian and it was a wordless board book but that counts, right? Abbracciami by Alessandro Sanna (whose graphic novel, The River, I reviewed last week) was recommended to me by a customer. It's all about hugging. Very cute. The style reminded me of Taro Gomi.

I just read my first book in Italian! OK, only the title was Italian and it was a wordless board book but that counts, right? Abbracciami by Alessandro Sanna (whose graphic novel, The River, I reviewed last week) was recommended to me by a customer. It’s all about hugging. Very cute. The style reminded me of Taro Gomi.

Bink & Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, Ilustrated by Tony Fucile  [**]- A  quick read, separated into three mini stories. Fun and sweet friendship book.

Bink & Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, Ilustrated by Tony Fucile [**]- A quick read, separated into three mini stories. Fun and sweet friendship book.

Colors by Anton Poitier [**]- Super fun board book. Each page has a part (in this case an animal) that twists to match the text with the correct image. I will definitely be recommending this new series- Twisters- often.

Colors by Anton Poitier [**]- Super fun board book. Each page has a part (in this case an animal) that twists to match the text with the correct image. I will definitely be recommending this new series- Twisters- often.

Little Bunny on the Move by Peter McCarty [**]- Cute picture book of a bunny intent on reaching his destination. Recommended by a co-worker.

Little Bunny on the Move by Peter McCarty [**]- Cute picture book of a bunny intent on reaching his destination. Recommended by a co-worker.

The Odd One Out by Britta Teckentrup [**]-  I like the illustrations. Fun search and find.

The Odd One Out by Britta Teckentrup [**]- I like the illustrations. Fun search and find.


Expect reviews closer to their May release dates.

Dangerous! by Tim Warnes [**]

Dangerous! by Tim Warnes [**]- Label loving Mole finds something he quite can’t identify. Readers will delight in finding out what it is in this cute story about an unlikely friendship.

Peggy by Anna Walker [**]

Peggy by Anna Walker [**]- Peggy gets swept away from home into the city. What starts out as something scary turns into an adventure of finding one’s way back home with the help of new friends. Lovely illustrations in this courageous chicken tale!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I am taking my time with Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. I’m going to start reading Christopher Healy’s The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw!

Have a great reading week!

Oh, this blog’s Facebook page is a few likes away from reaching 50 so please consider liking it!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (88) #IMWAYR – March 30, 2014

  1. The Styling Librarian

    March 31, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Essays of E.B. White- keep hearing about it… interesting, can’t wait to visit random PDX bookstores… Lost for Words sounds quite cute…

     
  2. Megan

    March 31, 2014 at 8:49 am

    Oh, so jealous! I can’t wait for the new Hero’s Guide! Did you like We Were Liars? I got sucked right in to that one. Have a great week! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-1Wz

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    March 31, 2014 at 10:16 am

    Ooh! A Peter McCarty book I haven’t seen. Will be on the lookout for this one. I love his art. I think I need to give Stellaluna another shot. I should probably share it with my Children’s Lit class. Not a book I enjoyed, but I read it years ago before I really started reading picture books diligently, so my response now might be different.

     
  4. Michele knott

    March 31, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    So jealous you got some of those pre-pub books! Can’t wait to see your reviews!

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    March 31, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    I am just about finished with WE WERE LIARS and am really enjoying it. The language is beautiful.

    Visiting a new bookstore is definitely on my list of favorite things to do. Your post made me smile. Have a great reading week!

     
  6. Linda Baie

    March 31, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    I have a very old collection of E.B. White’s essays & pick it up now & then to read one-always wonderful! I love the new picture books you featured, Earl, like Lost for Words and Little Bunny On The Move. I know of some, but not all. And will look for your reviews of We Were Liars and the Night Gardener (I have it from Net Galley). Both seem very good. Thanks, & happy birthday again!

     
  7. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    March 31, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    I love Bink & Gollie.. and I have We Were Liars on my pile. Too many books… too little time!

     
  8. Myra GB

    April 1, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    I have yet to read Stella Luna, hopefully soon. I know we have it in our library. Am looking forward to finding Peggy too.
    I love visiting discounted bookshops, and there are plenty of those in Las Vegas, Earl! I hope you do get a chance to visit a few that I had a chance to see the last time I was there. Enjoy your birthday month!

     

Leave a Reply

 
