RSS

Reading Resolutions: March Update

31 Mar

With so many Reading Challenges out there, I figured doing a monthly update of the ones I’m doing will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off Your Reading List– Currently my (ever growing) Reading List has 70 lines with some of them covering an entire series or author’s work and includes upcoming releases. Most of these are for my Reading Challenges. With 27 of these read and 3 deleted, I’m down to 40!

My Most Favorite Favorites– I added my 2 more titles for a total of 41- Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin and A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd.

Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit
*The Tale of Peter Rabbit
*The Tale of Benjamin Bunny
*The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies
*The Tale of Mr. Tod
*The Further Tale of Peter Rabbit (by Emma Thompson, Illustrated by Eleanor Taylor)
*The Christmas Tale of Peter Rabbit (by Emma Thompson, Illustrated by Eleanor Taylor)

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Off the Shelf & Agatha Christie
*The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.


With 7 more nonfiction picture books read this month, that brings my total to 30 of 104 books.
*Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth, Illustrated by Cindy Trumbore
*How Hippo Says Hello! by Abigail Samoun, Illustrated by Sarah Watts
*On My Way To A Happy Life by Deepak Chopra and Kristina Tracy, Illustrated by Rosemary Woods
*Green Is a Chile Pepper by Roseanne Thong, Illustrated by John Parra

*Care for Our World by Karen Robbins, Illustrated by Alexandra Ball
*Have You Heard the Nesting Bird? by Rita Gray, Illustrated by Kenard Pak
*Mama Built a Little Nest by Jennifer Ward, Illustrated by Steve Jenkins

Readings & Literary Events
*Everybody Reads: Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor

How are your Reading Resolutions going?

*****Updated April 1*****

Must Read Titles in 2014: Spring Update

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

I was rather selective in which books I was going to include in my Must Read Titles in 2014 list. Of the five, only three have already been published. Of the three, I’ve only read one.

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

My Beloved World offers snapshots of Sonia Sotomayor’s life from childhood to her becoming a federal judge. Hers is a story populated by people who shaped who she was, especially by the strong women in her life- her mother and grandmother. She is candid and honest which makes for a refreshing read. She stresses the importance of education and willingness to ask for help. She acknowledges that her go-getter attitude is not something everyone’s born with but can be implemented in their own lives. She also mentions luck playing a role but she was definitely prepared for when opportunities presented themselves to her!

Another theme is cultural identity. “I needed a history in which I could anchor my own sense of self.” I admire her being proud of her heritage but not letting it define herself, not letting one thing be the label she’s stuck with since not one of us is just one thing one hundred percent of the time. She helped those like her but made sure to include everyone. And, the fact that she and her peers were basically paving the way for future generations to be able to have the same opportunities in life, it was interesting to see one way of how their experiences are passed on.

“We are all limited, highly imperfect beings, worthy in some dimensions, deficient in others, and if we would understand how any of our connections survive, we would do well to look first to what is good in each of us.”

I’m planning on reading three more titles from this list within the next three months!

 

2 responses to “Reading Resolutions: March Update

  1. carriegelson

    April 1, 2014 at 8:20 pm

    Lots of progress on many lists – kind of hard to read titles not yet published isn’t it?! I am anxiously awaiting the 3rd book in The Raven Boys trilogy. I see A Snicker of Magic everywhere – must read this book!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    April 2, 2014 at 6:46 am

    Wow, you have more than one list, Earl, a good idea! Maybe I’ll look at that way of doing. I tend to do more fiction in all areas. I still need to find the Sotomayor book. I know it’ll be good, remember when you reviewed it before! Thanks for the summary!

     

Leave a Reply

 
