RSS

This is All Prologue

31 Mar

I’ve decided to take up Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. I’ve tried a few times before to get into it but have only gotten past the first few chapters. I’m a big believer that sometimes you have to be in the right mood to read a certain book or you either won’t enjoy it or it won’t be effective.

Now, I feel ready. I’ll go at my own pace- slowly but surely.

A writer writes. Sometimes, it seems I do everything else but that, everything else to avoid writing. I plan on doing the tasks in the book. I’m going on an Artist’s Date in a few days. I’ve been waking up an hour earlier the past week to get my Morning Pages done. With the latter, I’m glad that, at least, I’m showing up and making it a priority to write.

And, since I like a good challenge, I’ve decided to attempt a poem a day. April is, after all, National Poetry Month. I’ve seen a couple websites that might be good at holding me accountable. The first is the Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day Challenge. Poetic Asides blogger Robert Lee Brewer will provide a daily prompt to write a poem about. The second is a spinoff of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) called NaPoWriMo– the “Po,” of course, standing for “poetry.”

These should provide good writing exercises. And, hopefully, I can learn something about poetry in the process.

Writers write. And, that’s what I intend to do!

 

Leave a Reply

 
