RSS

Celebrate This Week- April 5, 2014

05 Apr
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Even though- even when- I volunteer, sometimes, I wonder if what I’m doing makes a difference. For SMART (Start Making A Reader Today), I read to two school kids for half an hour each. The volunteer coordinator told me the first grader still has trouble recognizing his letters and identifying their sounds. She’s been working with him and asked if I can help him as well.

I’m not an educator or anything. I’m a bookseller! So, I don’t really have the know-how to best approach situations like these.

The student and I approached it by playing two games. The first has him picking out a book and me guessing what it is based on his clues. In between reading, I pick out two copies of the same book to play, what I call, Letter Bingo. We take turns saying a letter that can be found on the cover (or on the same page) and its corresponding sound and whoever finds it first gets the point. I think he enjoys it. For me, it’s fun and educational at the same time.

So, this week, I’m celebrating making a difference.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

One response to “Celebrate This Week- April 5, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    April 5, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    I think that your relationship & creating the game just for him will make a big different, Earl. The more he practices, the more it will help. It’s great you’re giving your time for this. Have a wonderful rest of the weekend!

     

Leave a Reply

 
