RSS

Celebrate This Week- April 12, 2014

12 Apr
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating writing.

I’m currently in one of my phases where I’ve committed myself to write every day.

I’ve been successful in completing my Morning Pages (as introduced in Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way) for over a couple of weeks now. With this exercise, I’ve learned that it’s a matter of showing up. I’m making a conscious effort to make this a priority because writing is important to me. It makes me feel good I am being that kind of person.

I’ve also been participating in a Poem-A-Day challenge. When I’m writing, I’m always surprised by how the brain works. How is it even we think about the things we do? And, the process of it all is incredible. It’ll be interesting to go over some of these poems at a later date to see if I improve upon them.

I tend to dismiss my blogging as not actual writing but it is. Maintaining a blog is hard work but I enjoy it. I love sharing my passion for and commitment to literacy. I love the communities I’m members of. I’ve always wanted to be a writer to make connections with others.

As for my writing with intention of publishing, this is something I still really need to work on. With the other writing I’m doing though, I think I’ll get this going again sooner rather than later.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

7 responses to “Celebrate This Week- April 12, 2014

  1. Terje

    April 12, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Congratulations on your daily morning writing. I find it to be a very difficult habit to establish. I am celebrating your success.

     
  2. carriegelson

    April 12, 2014 at 8:51 am

    Well done Earl. It certainly is work – but with many rewards.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    April 12, 2014 at 9:18 am

    Wow, doing morning pages is a big deal, Earl. But, once into the habit, it’s also hard to let go. I’m enjoying your blog, onward and upward! You should check out the Poetry Friday community!

     
  4. Holly M @muellerholly

    April 12, 2014 at 9:21 am

    Writing every day is definitely something worth celebrating!!

     
  5. Jaana

    April 12, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Writing daily, being consistent, that is a BIG reason to celebrate!

     
  6. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    April 12, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    This is something that I keep telling myself I need to do. Being intentional about setting aside writing time and putting your pen to paper every day is such a big accomplishment. Congratulations!

     
  7. Crystal

    April 13, 2014 at 11:01 am

    I struggled sometimes when I started The Artist’s Way, but I so enjoyed that feeling of accomplishment. Writing daily is definitely cause for celebration. Congrats.

     

Leave a Reply

 
