RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 10, 2014

10 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating connections made through books.

Tuesday was a good day volunteering at Start Making a Reader Today (SMART)! I used a giant teddy bear in the room as someone the kid can read to. I was surprised by how much more confident and interested he seemed during and after! He even hugged the bear afterwards! Book buddies!

On Thursday, not only did I end up visiting a new bookstore…

crookedhouse

… but I also ended up adding my 42nd title to my most favorite favorites– John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath! It’s on my Must Read in 2014 and Off the Shelf reading challenges lists. I’ve had it for awhile now and the Classic Literature Book Club was just what I needed to actually read it! And, I didn’t finish until the last minute!

The Grapes of Wrath is the kind if book I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed if I had been required to in high school. But I can’t believe I’ve missed out for so long! Even though I knew about the book, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I started on it.

I liked how the chapters alternated between the stories of the people as a whole suffering through this difficult time and the stories of one family, the Joads. The characters were relatable and you could feel for them. There was a dignity and nobility about Tom and Ma that makes them stick with you even after the book is over.

The writing was beautiful despite all the ugliness of the subject matter. It is sadly as relevant then as it now.

If for some reason, you try and avoid classics as I do, do yourself a favor and give them a chance. You’ll be surprised at what you discover!

Recently, two separate people lent me books that they thought I might enjoy. I can’t wait to read them. I have to ask them if this is their One Book!

books

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 10, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    May 10, 2014 at 10:13 am

    I love Steinbeck, & haven’t read Grapes of Wrath in a long time. Maybe sometime now that you’re celebrating it so much. One of my all-time favorite books of his is Travels With Charley-a memoir of a trip he made across the US-much to love there too. I’ll also look up those books you were given-maybe they’re be good too-glad you shared! Have a great weekend, Earl!

     
  2. carriegelson

    May 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    What a beautiful book store. Is it an old house? Good advice about classic books. I do tend to avoid more than I should.

     

Leave a Reply

 
