RSS

What Are You Reading? (94) #IMWAYR – May 11, 2014

11 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating connections made through books! Plus, read my review for:

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck [*****- My Pick of the Week]

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck [*****- My Pick of the Week]

29 Myths on the Swinster Pharmacy by Lemony Snicket, Illustrated by Lisa Brown [*]- An odd book that didn't really make sense to me. I'm still on the fence whether I like Lemony Snickett or not. I guess it's good for kids to know they can write about anything. The dustjacket folds out to reveal a map.

29 Myths on the Swinster Pharmacy by Lemony Snicket, Illustrated by Lisa Brown [*]- An odd book that didn’t really make sense to me. I’m still on the fence whether I like Lemony Snickett or not. I guess it’s good for kids to know they can write about anything. The dustjacket folds out to reveal a map.

Chengdu Could Not, Would Not, Fall Asleep by Barney Saltzberg [**]- A silly picture book about a panda who has trouble falling asleep. The book is interestingly designed from the font used and the illustrations.

Chengdu Could Not, Would Not, Fall Asleep by Barney Saltzberg [**]- A silly picture book about a panda who has trouble falling asleep. The book is interestingly designed from the font used and the illustrations.

Zubert by Charlie Sutcliffe [*]- A boy helps his new friends hide a slew of animals from a hotel inspector. Lots of details in the illustrations- including letters (from A to Z) making an appearance throughout the book.

Zubert by Charlie Sutcliffe [**]- A boy helps his new friends hide a slew of animals from a hotel inspector. Lots of details in the illustrations- including letters (from A to Z) making an appearance throughout the book.

My Red Balloon by Kazuaki Yamada [**]- A little girl loses her new balloon. Luckily, she has some animal friends to help her along. Cute illustrations but the ending was kind of dumb.

My Red Balloon by Kazuaki Yamada [**]- A little girl loses her new balloon. Luckily, she has some animal friends to help her along. Cute illustrations but the ending was kind of dumb.

A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz, Catia Chien [***]

A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz, Catia Chien [***]


Expect a review for this in my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge this Wednesday.

Lindbergh by Torben Kuhlmann [***]- This picture book is the tale of a flying mouse and a cute take on what inspired Charles Lindbergh perseverance to fly across the Atlantic. The illustrations almost remind me of Shaun Tan's The Arrival so that's impressive in and of itself! This is great for kids who like to build contraptions and just an all around inspiring tale of not giving up despite rat traps, hungry cats and angry owls.

Lindbergh by Torben Kuhlmann [***]- This picture book is the tale of a flying mouse and a cute take on what inspired Charles Lindbergh perseverance to fly across the Atlantic. The illustrations almost remind me of Shaun Tan’s The Arrival so that’s impressive in and of itself! This is great for kids who like to build contraptions and just an all around inspiring tale of not giving up despite rat traps, hungry cats and angry owls.

Odd, Weird & Little by Patrick Jennings [***]- Just like its title, this early chapter book is odd, weird, and little. There's a new kid in town and he's  little bit strange. He wears a suit with a bowler hat. He carries a briefcase and writes with a quill. Woodrow should be glad someone is in the spotlight now for being different since he's been that kid for awhile. But in this anti-bullying story and accepting one's self, they become friends instead. I don't particularly like it that much but I wouldn't mind if this was the first in a series.

Odd, Weird & Little by Patrick Jennings [***]- Just like its title, this early chapter book is odd, weird, and little. There’s a new kid in town and he’s little bit strange. He wears a suit with a bowler hat. He carries a briefcase and writes with a quill. Woodrow should be glad someone is in the spotlight now for being different since he’s been that kid for awhile. But in this anti-bullying story and accepting one’s self, they become friends instead. I don’t particularly like it that much but I wouldn’t mind if this was the first in a series.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to read a couple books people have lent to me to read!

Have a great reading week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? (94) #IMWAYR – May 11, 2014

  1. Julee Murphy

    May 11, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    I agree with your assessment of Chengdu. It was pretty but the story was sort of flat. I think I would like the Road to Oz. I love a good biography and it is bound to be a very good one.

     
  2. Josette

    May 12, 2014 at 6:25 am

    Cute books!

    I’ve always wanted to read The Grapes of Wrath. When I was in primary school, I only read the abridged version.

    Josette
    Books Love Me

     
  3. Tea

    May 12, 2014 at 6:48 am

    Why can’t poor Chengdu sleep?? He’s so cute. Like all your books.

     
  4. Lisa Loves Literature

    May 12, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Have you read the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket? I enjoyed those. Haven’t tried the newer stuff though. Looks like a busy week! Check out my It’s Monday post.

     
  5. Linda Baie

    May 12, 2014 at 11:44 am

    I hope I can find some of these new ones, Earl, like A Boy and A Jaguar, which sounds good, and helpful. Love the look of Odd, Weird & Little also. Thanks for being clear about what you enjoyed, and what you found not as good! Have a great week!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    May 12, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    The Grapes of Wrath is one of my favorite classics! I am reading his nonfiction road trip book, Travels with Charley, right now. It is awesome.

     
  7. cheriee

    May 12, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I’m excited to see Grapes of Wrath on your list. I’m just discovering Steinbeck with the Pastures of Heaven. I’m looking forward to reading all the rest of his work!

     
  8. Myra GB

    May 12, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    Very nice titles. Chengdu sounds a little bit like Sparky – I hope to find these two books in our library. I have yet to read The Grapes of Wrath, I am glad that it has resonated with you. I am a huge Lemony Snicket fan, I love his absurdity, his puns and witticisms, I would love to find this new picturebook; the artwork by Lisa Brown looks amazing. Lindbergh also looks like a book I must find soon. Thanks for sharing all these!

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    May 12, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I’ve always wanted to read Grapes of Wrath as I am fascinated by the dust bowl. Thank you for pushing me even more towards it.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
