RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 17, 2014

17 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week, I’m celebrating volunteering and feeling inspired- and my first-ever Book Giveaway!

Last weekend, I attended a benefit concert for The Children’s Book Bank. Portland-based band the Helio Sequence put on a great acoustic show. I ended up checking out more of their music afterwards because I was really impressed by a couple of their songs. It was a great evening to support a great cause- to help get books into the hands of kids who normally wouldn’t have them!

My last full day of volunteering (as in having to go to the library, the school and then the Children’s Book Bank all in one day) was this past Tuesday. It was the last day of SMART volunteering. We celebrated by reading to the kids (of course) and handing them certificates for completing the program. I’m glad I did this because it was something I’ve been meaning to do and something different I can challenge myself with.

I also finally exceeded 50 hours of volunteering for the year which is low compared with previous years at this point. But I’m glad that volunteering is a part of my life. I can’t wait to take a short break from it though only so I can feel excited about it again.

I’ve also been feeling very inspired lately. I’m dubbing May 27th as Day of My Creativity- or Day of MC, if you prefer- since I’ll be sharing my plan and timeline for a project I’m hoping everyone will be able to read by the end of the year!

The upcoming days will be full of last moments. It’s always sad to have things end but exciting because of all the new things that will be happening!

And, maybe because I’m feeling so very happy but I’ve decided to hold my first-ever GIVEAWAY on this blog- which was one of my goals for this year!

You may have heard me mention my Commitment to Literacy in which I asked what One Book you think everyone should read? What one book has influenced your life?

My One Book is Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke and translated by Stephen Mitchell.

poet

I tend to reread this book at least once a year. I am still very much in love with the words and the writing as I was the first time. What’s great about Letters to a Young Poet is that it speaks to everyone who wants to be creative or inspired. I’ve read it during different periods of my life- during the good and the bad and everything in between- and it gave me exactly the right words I needed at that time.

I had another opportunity to give it as a gift recently. It’s the book I also tend to give as a gift to people I know and I wanted to give it to one of you.

I started this Giveaway on the blog’s Facebook page yesterday, Friday, May 16th. Comment there, or here, with your One Book choice by Wednesday, May 21st. I will then pick a random winner and, once I hear from them, will announce it.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 17, 2014

  1. Terje

    May 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    ” It’s always sad to have things end but exciting because of all the new things that will be happening!” – such a right thought. I bow my head to you for the volunteer work you have done. I don’t know if I have just one book that has influenced me, but one of the latest was “Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hossein – it reminded me to be thankful for the life I have. Wishing you good new beginnings!

     
  2. carriegelson

    May 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Earl – I am so impressed that you do so much volunteering – it gives us so much when we can give of ourselves. You have much to share!

     

Leave a Reply

 
