RSS

What Are You Reading? (95) #IMWAYR – May 18, 2014

18 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Shelftalker Reviews– Check out the shelftalkers I made for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– Includes a Giveaway for my One Book selection, which also happens to be one of my most favorite favorites:

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

Nelly Gnu and Daddy Too by Anna Dewdney [*]- A cute spinoff of the Llama Llama books this time featuring a father daughter relationship.

Nelly Gnu and Daddy Too
by Anna Dewdney [*]- A cute spinoff of the Llama Llama books this time featuring a father daughter relationship.

Breakthrough! Edited by Alex Cornell [**]- A collection of tips and advice form creative thinkers to break through a block or a rut. Probably better to read piecemeal instead of through and through. I actually found this book helpful as I was reading it so that's always good!

Breakthrough! Edited by Alex Cornell [**]- A collection of tips and advice form creative thinkers to break through a block or a rut. Probably better to read piecemeal instead of through and through. I actually found this book helpful as I was reading it so that’s always good!

Number One Sam by Greg Pizzoli [**]- Cute! Sometimes winning isn't everything in this charming picture book!

Number One Sam by Greg Pizzoli [**]- Cute! Sometimes winning isn’t everything in this charming picture book!

Help! We Need A Title! by Hervé Tullet [**]- I've been waiting to read this ever since I knew it was getting published. It didn't disappoint! Fun and creative.

Help! We Need A Title! by Hervé Tullet [**]- I’ve been waiting to read this ever since I knew it was getting published. It didn’t disappoint! Fun and creative.

Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing by Judi Barrett, Illustrated by Ron Barrett [***]- Another cute picture book about what might happen when animals wear people's clothes! Silly fun for young readers.

Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing by Judi Barrett, Illustrated by Ron Barrett [***]- Another cute picture book about what might happen when animals wear people’s clothes! Silly fun for young readers.

I Wish I Could Draw by Cary Fagan [**]- This sneaky book will inspire even the questioning artist to believe in themselves after they see how the narrator, believing he can't draw at all, pushes through his doubts and ends up writing this book!

I Wish I Could Draw by Cary Fagan [**]- This sneaky book will inspire even the questioning artist to believe in themselves after they see how the narrator, believing he can’t draw at all, pushes through his doubts and ends up writing this book!

 The Boy on Fairfield Street by Kathleen Krull,  Illustratrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher [***]

The Boy on Fairfield Street by Kathleen Krull, Illustratrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher [***]


Expect a review for this in my Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge this Wednesday.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m finishing up these books lent to me by people saying I need to read them!

books

Again, please check out the Book Giveaway I’m holding!

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (95) #IMWAYR – May 18, 2014

  1. Robin

    May 18, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing. was one of my favorites as a kid, and remains so to the present day.

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    May 18, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Such fun beautiful books!

     
  3. The Styling Librarian

    May 19, 2014 at 6:12 am

    Hmm, think I should start making time for shelf talkers, love what you’ve created! 🙂 Love Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing… fantastic book. Help! We Need A Title! by Hervé Tullet – can’t wait to read, loved watching Herve read most of it in a book promotional video. Happy reading week to you…

     
  4. Tara Smith

    May 19, 2014 at 8:26 am

    Amazed at all the great reading you accomplished. Loved “The Boy on Fairfield Street “!

     
  5. Adrienne Gear

    May 19, 2014 at 10:07 am

    A great collection of picture books this week! Help! We Need a Title was one I also featured this week but now I’m excited to watch the promo video. I enjoy Kathleen Krull’s books so will definitely check this one out. Thanks!

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 19, 2014 at 11:51 am

    I absolutely LOVED The Adventures of Mark Twain by Huckleberry Finn. That book made me laugh so hard my husband had to constantly pause the DVR while he was watching football so I could read him passages.

     
  7. Elisabeth Ellington

    May 19, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    I just checked out the Seuss biography–hoping to get to it this week. I’m very interested in the creativity books you shared this week. Thanks for sharing those titles.

     
  8. Megan

    May 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Thank you so much for reminding me of Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing! What a fun bit of nostalgia. Have a great week! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-20H

     
  9. Linda Baie

    May 19, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing was a favorite of my kids-didn’t know it was still around. All the books shared look great, Earl. I’ve seen about some, but those in your shelf talkers group look very good, and I guess they’re all fairly new, too. You have so many ‘three-starred’ books this time! Thanks for sharing terrific ones.

     
  10. Crystal

    May 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    I will definitely be looking for A Boy and a Jaguar. Thanks! Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing is so funny. Love it.

     
  11. Myra GB

    May 20, 2014 at 12:16 am

    Hi there Earl. I think Fats (one of the GatheringBooks ladies) has done a review of the Geisel biography and she did gush about that one. I love the Barretts, I think I own a copy of Animals Should definitely not wear – can’t keep track of my own books anymore. Your giveaway sounds awesome. I am glad to note that poetry has found me once more. Probably about to leave too in a bit, but Rilke. He is eternal. 🙂

     
  12. Ricki Ginsberg

    May 20, 2014 at 7:57 am

    I didn’t realize there is a spinoff of the Llama Llama books! I am sure the story is cute, but seeing your rating, I won’t be in a huge rush to drive to the library and grab it. 🙂
    Yawp.

     

Leave a Reply

 
