RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 24, 2014

24 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating love.

Love of Everyone’s Freedom to Marry

This past Monday in Oregon, the same sex marriage ban was deemed unconstitutional. My friend and I went to a venue where people had waited all day for the verdict and couples rushed to get married to celebrate this big win for love.

US District Judge Michael McShane said the following about his decision, “”I know that many suggest we are going down a slippery slope that will have no moral boundaries. To those who truly harbor such fears, I can only say this: Let us look less to the sky to see what might fall; rather, let us look to each other … and rise.” Such a beautiful quote!

Love of Music

You may or may not know but my favorite singer is Mariah Carey. She has an album coming out next Tuesday- Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse available May 27th. Luckily, iTunes made it available for streaming and I can’t wait to get my copies! It was such an ordeal trying to figure out how to get it to work since I’m not that technologically savvy but the music was worth it.

Love of Books

We’ll be starting a Family Book Club at work next month. I’ve been so happy with people’s interest with it. I just love how books can bring people together. And, Twitter is definitely a great place to have readers connect with most of their favorite writers and illustrators.

bookclub

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 24, 2014

  1. Terje

    May 24, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Celebrating love – what a great choice. I am sure that we will read more about the Family Book club on some Saturdays – books and reading always give a reason to celebrate.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    May 24, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    I’m happy about the law struck down, Earl. Headway is being made! And love hearing about your music-glad you’re happy. Have fun with the book club, too. I’ll look forward to your titles!

     

Leave a Reply

 
