RSS

What Are You Reading? (96) #IMWAYR – May 25, 2014

25 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week I celebrate love.

Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann [***]- I can't believe I hadn't read this one before. So cute! Perfect for babies!

Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann [***]- I can’t believe I hadn’t read this one before. So cute! Perfect for babies!

The Pearl and the Pumpkin by Paul West, Illustrated by W.W. Denslow [**]

The Pearl and the Pumpkin by Paul West, Illustrated by W.W. Denslow [**]- I didn’t particularly enjoy this book recommended and lent to me by a customer. It seemed like a poor imitation of The Wizard of Oz although really the only thing they shared was the illustrator. There were some enjoyable parts but overall it kept missing the mark.

I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo! by Jill Esbaum, Illustrated by Gus Gordon [**]- An overly confident cow faces some of her fears in this charming picture book about self-esteem.

I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo! by Jill Esbaum, Illustrated by Gus Gordon [**]- An overly confident cow faces some of her fears in this charming picture book about self-esteem.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish another recommended/lent book Still Life by Louise Penny.

Have a great reading week!

 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading? (96) #IMWAYR – May 25, 2014

  1. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

    May 25, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Goodnight Gorilla looks great. I am on the look out for books as we anticipate the birth of our first grandchild! Have a great week.

     
  2. Julee Murphy

    May 25, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    I like the look and visual texture of the Henry Knox story. It reminds me of some of the Civil War calendars I have bought over the years. I hope I can find it in my public library.

     
  3. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    May 26, 2014 at 5:21 am

    I AM COW, HEAR ME MOO looks cute. I’m definitely going to have to check that one out.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    May 26, 2014 at 7:16 am

    I am cow… looks like a fun book for young kids, Earl. Thanks for your reviews of all the books! I love those bios!

     
  5. Jennifer | Book Den

    May 26, 2014 at 7:24 am

    My kids love Goodnight Gorilla!

     
  6. The Styling Librarian

    May 26, 2014 at 7:35 am

    Love to hear about those non-fiction books… shall add to my TBR pile… Happy reading to you!

     
  7. Juli Rahel

    May 26, 2014 at 8:58 am

    I love the covers for all of the books, they look amazing. ‘Goodnight Gorilla’ may be my favourite because the gorilla looks so cheeky! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you enjoy all of them!
    My Monday posts
    Juli @ Universe in Words

     
  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    May 26, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    I loved reading Goodnight Gorilla to a girl I used to babysit. Thank you for bringing back great memories!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  9. Ricki Ginsberg

    May 26, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Earl, I always come on your website and look for a book I’ve read, but I never find one! You are always lightyears ahead of me with children’s books. It seems like you had a great week. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all of these great titles with us!

     
  10. Myra GB

    June 2, 2014 at 2:23 am

    I am barely just catching up on last week’s post, Earl. This is great, I have just pinned a few of your titles for my PBB (picturebook biography) research. Thank you for those titles! Definitely helpful. I haven’t read Goodnight Gorilla yet, will try to look for it in the library.

     

Leave a Reply

 
