RSS

Celebrate This Week- May 31, 2014/ Reading Resolutions: May Update

31 May
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week, I’m celebrating my commitment to write and my reading.

Earlier in the week, I wrote about a project I’m working on. Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream) will be available as an e-book and as a limited edition print book on October 3, 2014. Please read the post for more information.

My notebook for this project!

My notebook for this project!

At the end of each month, I like to look back at what I’ve read and to see how I’m doing with my resolutions.

With so many Reading Challenges out there, I figured doing a monthly update of the ones I’m doing will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off your Reading List Challenge

Check Off Your Reading List– Currently my (ever growing) Reading List has 76 lines with some of them covering an entire series or author’s work and includes upcoming releases. Most of these are for my Reading Challenges. With 33 of these read and 8 deleted, I’m down to 35!

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Off the Shelf Reading Challenge

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

Must Read in 2014 Challenge

*The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck– Not only did this book cross of an item on my Off the Shelf and Must Read in 2014 Reading Challenges, but it also became one of my most favorite favorites.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.


With 13 more nonfiction picture books read this month (plus one I’d forgotten to include,) that brings my total to 51 of 104 books. I decided I was slacking with my #nfpb2014 reading challenge so I stepped it up!
*Where Do We Go When We Disappear? by Isabel Minhós Martins, Illustrated by Madalena Matoso
*Lucy Maud Montgomery by Alexandra Wallner
*Beatrix by Jeanette Winter
*The Road to Oz: Twists, Turns, Bumps, and Triumphs in the Life of L. Frank Baum by Kathleen Krull, Illustrated by Kevin Hawkes

*A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz, Catia Chien
*The Adventures of Mark Twain by Huckleberry Finn by Robert Burleigh, Illustrated by Barry Blitt

*The Boy on Fairfield Street by Kathleen Krull, Illustratrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher
*Henry Knox: Bookseller, Soldier, Patriot by Anita Silvey, Illustrated by Wendell Minor
*The Perfect Wizard: Hans Christian Andersen by Jane Yolen, Illustrated by Dennis Nolan
*Papa Chagall, Tell Us a Story by Laurence Anhol

*Wanda Gág: The Girl Who Lived to Draw by Deborah Kogan Ray
*Global Babies by Global Fund for Children
*Global Baby Girls by Global Fund for Children

*Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla by Katherine Applegate, Illustrated by G. Brian Karas

Readings & Literary Events
*Classic Literature Book Club

How are your Reading Resolutions going?

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “Celebrate This Week- May 31, 2014/ Reading Resolutions: May Update

  1. Linda Baie

    May 31, 2014 at 9:58 am

    Wow, Earl, you are doing so great with the challenges. I need to read more for the ‘must reads’ challenges. I’m nearly finished with school, so will have more time to read. I like hearing about your collection project too. It’ll be fun to read! Have a super weekend!

     
  2. loraleebain

    May 31, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    You have inspired me to read a classic this summer! I seem to always be reading teacher books!

     
  3. Terje

    June 1, 2014 at 2:42 am

    Wow. You have so many reading challenges going on. My only challenge is to lessen my TBR pile over the summer. Titles just keep adding. Happy Reading and Writing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
