RSS

What Are You Reading? (97) #IMWAYR – June 1, 2014

01 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Daydreams & Fairy Tales– Announcement for my upcoming book
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:


Celebrate This Week/ Reading Resolutions: May Update

Big Bad Bubble by Adam Rubin, Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri [**]- I had no real desire to read this book but my boss insisted it was funny. It kind of is.

Big Bad Bubble by Adam Rubin, Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri [**]- I had no real desire to read this book but my boss insisted it was funny. It kind of is.

Thank You, Octopus by Darren Farrell [**]- Cute silly story about a well-intentioned octopus helping a boy get ready for bed!

Thank You, Octopus by Darren Farrell [**]- Cute silly story about a well-intentioned octopus helping a boy get ready for bed!

My Nose, Your Nose by Melanie Walsh [**]- A look into what makes us different but most importantly what we have in common!

My Nose, Your Nose by Melanie Walsh [**]- A look into what makes us different but most importantly what we have in common!

Stars by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Marla Frazee [**]- A sweet book. But what stood out was the illustrations from Marla Frazee who also did All the World.

Stars by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Marla Frazee [**]- A sweet book. But what stood out was the illustrations from Marla Frazee who also did All the World.

Still Life by Louise Penny [***]- This was a book lent to me because she knew I liked cozy mysteries a la Agatha Christie. This didn't disappoint. The writing was very literary but wasn't scared of making the characters and situations imperfect. The only reason I perhaps won't read any more in this award-winning series is I don't like the idea of people still living in a small town where murder after murder occurs!

Still Life by Louise Penny [***- My Pick of the Week]- This was a book lent to me because she knew I liked cozy mysteries a la Agatha Christie. This didn’t disappoint. The writing was very literary but wasn’t scared of making the characters and situations imperfect. The only reason I perhaps won’t read any more in this award-winning series is I don’t like the idea of people still living in a small town where murder after murder occurs!

Larry Loves Portland! by John Skewes [ **]- A cute board book in the Larry Gets Lost series featuring Portland! I'm excited the author/illustrator will be doing  reading and a drawing activity at our store!

Larry Loves Portland! by John Skewes [ **]- A cute board book in the Larry Gets Lost series featuring Portland! I’m excited the author/illustrator will be doing reading and a drawing activity at our store!

100 Bears by Magali Bardos [**]- The title may be somewhat misleading. A fun counting book from 1-100 with a very loose story. The art is nice though.

100 Bears by Magali Bardos [**]- The title may be somewhat misleading. A fun counting book from 1-100 with a very loose story. The art is nice though.

 The Numberlys by William Joyce, Illustrated by Christina Ellis [**]- William Joyce is very hit or miss with me. His ideas and styles are always fascinating. His writing is kind of lackluster though. The Numberlys is fun imaginative read of how letters came to be.

The Numberlys by William Joyce, Illustrated by Christina Ellis [**]- William Joyce is very hit or miss with me. His ideas and styles are always fascinating. His writing is kind of lackluster though. The Numberlys is fun imaginative read of how letters came to be.

Following Papa's Song by Gianna Marino [**]- A newish picture book release perfect for Father's Day about a baby whale's relationship with his dad.

Following Papa’s Song by Gianna Marino [**]- A newish picture book release perfect for Father’s Day about a baby whale’s relationship with his dad.

What Do You Do with an Idea? by Kobi Yamada, Illustrated by Mac Besom [***]- This is such a good picture book for kids and adults to have. I actually think adults may benefit from this more!

What Do You Do with an Idea? by Kobi Yamada, Illustrated by Mac Besom [***]- This is such a good picture book for kids and adults to have. I actually think adults may benefit from this more!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to finish The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton.

What are you reading?

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? (97) #IMWAYR – June 1, 2014

  1. Tea Time with Marce

    June 1, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    My Nose, Your Nose, LOVE…….. Such great books.

     
  2. Ricki

    June 1, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    STILL LIFE looks very interesting. I love a good mystery and will have to check this one out. I suppose there are people who still live in houses that are precariously standing on beaches that are known to have natural disasters, so maybe people would still remain in a town with many murders? Thanks for sharing. 🙂

     
  3. Greg

    June 1, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I think Thank You Octopus and Stars both look very nice… although they all look pretty good.

     
  4. Linda Baie

    June 1, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    A good list-I have Stars-enjoy it every time I share it. Thanks for the review of the mystery, Still Life, I don’t know that series, but might be fun to read it this summer. I agree with you about the idea book, also very good for adults. Thanks for all the reviews. I’m interested in seeing Numberlys, too!

     
  5. Juli Rahel

    June 2, 2014 at 3:13 am

    The illustration on the cover of ‘Big Bad Bubble’ sort of reminds me of ‘Where The Wild Things Are’! @Starts’ and ‘Following Papa’s Song’ sound and look very nice though! I hope you enjoy your reads! My Monday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

     
  6. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    June 2, 2014 at 5:10 am

    I read Big Bad Bubble this week too and I thought it was hysterical. The humor makes me think it would be a good read aloud for older students. I really enjoyed the clever writing.

    I need to check out Thank You, Octopus. I am intrigued.

     
  7. The Styling Librarian

    June 2, 2014 at 6:47 am

    What do you do with an idea… interesting. Interesting to read another opinion about the Big Bad Bubble. Looking forward to visiting in July! Will make sure to coordinate. 🙂

     
  8. Elisabeth Ellington

    June 2, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I love the illustrations in Stars too. I will read any book that Marla Frazee illustrates. William Joyce is very hit or miss for me as well. The writing almost never works for me at all, and half the time I can’t even follow what’s happening in the story. But the pictures are incredible!

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 2, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    I’m so sad that my library doesn’t have What To Do With An Idea? I want to read it now. Thank you for introducing me to it! Also interested in Big Bad Bubble and Thank You Octopus.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  10. carriegelson

    June 2, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    Lots of great picture books – some favourites like Stars! and ones I really want to read – What to Do with an Idea! Thanks!

     
  11. Myra GB

    June 2, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    So many picturebooks here, Earl! Love Stars. Definitely one of my favourites. I have a special fondness for William Joyce – so I’m glad that he has a new book with the Numberlys. Will be on the lookout for it. Thanks!

     
  12. Crystal (@librarygrl2)

    June 4, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Way Do You Do With an Idea is going on my list. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
